Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Water level Sensor  (Read 9315 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have a system set up that will automatically change the water on my fish tank. It works well and I am using wires in the water as electrodes and have them plugged into the analog ports on the arduino. It senses water fine but the problem is that the wires disintegrate and every metal i have tried emits a milky white substance into the water when it is sensing. Can someone suggest an alternative for sensing water? Is there a different kind of metal I can use that will not mess up the water and disintegrate? Thanks.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 50
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Running a current through the water like that is causing the metal to corrode, which is the white stuff you see.  To avoid this, you might try using a float switch like this one: http://www.virtualvillage.com/liquid-water-level-sensor-right-angle-float-switch/sku009700-026?utm_source=googlebase&utm_medium=shcomp&utm_campaign=Liquid%20Water%20Level%20Sensor%20Right%20Angle%20Float%20Switch
Logged

Global Moderator
UK
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 238
Posts: 24371
I don't think you connected the grounds, Dave.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You could possibly try a pressure switch.

If you want to encourage cephalopods, don't use copper.
Logged

"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Are there any conductors that do not corrode during electrolysis? If not i will probably just use a float switch. Won't the contacts for each terminal corrode inside the switch?
« Last Edit: July 10, 2009, 02:56:30 pm by biscuit495 » Logged

"The old Europe"
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 2005
Bootloaders suck!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

A first improvement would be to lower the current by lowering the voltage with a voltage divider (potentiometer). The sensor will still work if the Arduino only reads e.g. 200 instead of 1023. If you used an operational amplifier, this could go even further.

The 2nd step would be to just read the level every e.g. 2 seconds for a very short time. So activate the sensor by using a digital pin as the voltage source and turn it to an output and set it to HIGH. Then read the analog value and turn the sensor off by setting the pin to input (internal pullups must be off).
« Last Edit: July 10, 2009, 03:03:17 pm by madworm » Logged

• Upload doesn't work? Do a loop-back test.
• There's absolutely NO excuse for not having an ISP!
• Your AVR needs a brain surgery? Use the online FUSE calculator.
My projects: RGB LED matrix, RGB LED ring, various ATtiny gadgets...
• Microsoft is not the answer. It is the question, and the answer is NO!

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have a 1.6Kohm resistor as voltage divider is this enough resistance? I like the idea of having a digital pin provide the current for the analog read. I think that will reduce the problem greatly. Thanks.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 77
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Tell me if you find a suitable pressure sensor smiley
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 176
Posts: 12283
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Would a light sensor work?  Will water "break" a light beam?


I know lasers are used for tank guaging.  Will an optical proximity sensor work in a similar fasion?  Would something like this...

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8959

...detect the surface of the water?
Logged

SF Bay Area
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 10
Posts: 1235
Arduino Ninja
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've used these fluid level sensors before. They're optical, there is no electrical or mechanical interaction with the water. The LED and photodiode detect a change in refraction out of the sensing cone.

http://www.fluidswitch.com/pages/Optical-Liquid-Level-Sensors.htm

If you know anything about optics, you know that they work due to the index of refraction, which involves changes in material. Water to air, or air to glass, or glass to different types of glass...they'll all change the angle of light a different way. Also consider prisms; due to the index of refraction, light hitting a surface at a certain angle on an internal glass-air interface will reflect.

The angle of the cones on these fluid sensors appears to be close to the limit of refraction in air. Once water or some other fluid contacts the surface of the plastic, the light will probably no longer reflect off both walls of the cone and return to the photodiode.

You could either find some of these sensors or do some experiments and figure out
Logged

Unique RGB LED Modules and Arduino shields: http://www.macetech.com/store

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Does anyone know where to find these optical sensors or how to make them? I have some cds photocells but I dont know how I would make one from that. Now i have it set for the analog input to receive power from a digital pin and I only have it check every 40 seconds. It works well and even after left for hours in a small container of water the corrosion is not visible at all. Also I now use graphite rods insted of wire ends. I dont think the corrosion is at a harmful level now but if i could find an optical sensor I would switch. Thanks.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 90
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

those float switches are probably nothing more than a simple reed switch with a magnet in the moving float section. So, you could make one yourself too and have the reed switch on the outside of the tank nice and dry and the magnet sealed in a float on the inside of the tank.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Lower the current and voltage to reduce electrolysis. Also, you could generate and send an AC signal instead of DC.

Alternately, try putting a capacitive sensor on the outside of the tank.
Logged

London, England
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 4
Posts: 1026
Go! Go! Arduinoooo !!!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sure Electronics have some too - http://www.sureelectronics.net/search.php?encode=YTozOntzOjg6ImtleXdvcmRzIjtzOjU6IndhdGVyIjtzOjg6ImNhdGVnb3J5IjtzOjE6IjAiO3M6MTg6InNlYXJjaF9lbmNvZGVfdGltZSI7aToxMjQ3ODM4MzI4O30=
Logged

Lancashire, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 8
Posts: 1992
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If the water level doesn't change very fast, I'd use the wires and turn them on just long enough to get a reading every few minutes.  If they were on for say 1 second every five minutes, the electrolysis would be very slow and the wires would last a long time.
Logged


North York, Ontario
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 142
Arduino rocks!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What about using some copper braid and a capacitance-sensing library like this one:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/CapSense

Ive been looking at a water level sensor for measuring water in a rain gauge and this was something I came across. Perhaps its possible to measure the change in capacitance and relate that to water level?
« Last Edit: July 18, 2009, 09:48:08 am by SpikedCola » Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: