Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: ATTiny85. IDE responds:"Invalid device signature, define PAGEL and BS2 signals"  (Read 2182 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am trying to program ATTin85 using Arduino
I used the hardware support file from "High-Low Tech"
here http://hlt.media.mit.edu/?p=1695

With this schematic:


I downloaded the ArduinoISP sketch on the Uno board, then chose "ATTiny85 internal 8Mhz" with "Arduino as ISP"
then tried burning the Bootloader and tried uploading a sketch but the IDE gives:
"
avrdude.exe: please define PAGEL and BS2 signals in the configuration file for part ATtiny85avrdude.exe: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.              
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override this check.
"

so I tried to using avrdude from CMD
"avrdude -P COM5 -b 19200 -c avrisp -p t85 -v -e -U flash:w:worked.cpp.hex"

so it gives

"avrdude: please define PAGEL and BS2 signals in the configuration file for part
ATtiny85
avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.07s

avrdude: Device signature = 0xffffff
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.


avrdude done.  Thank you."
I tried another ATTiny85 chip and got the same result!
« Last Edit: October 06, 2013, 03:06:44 pm by L. DaVinci » Logged

Leeds, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 78
Posts: 1719
Once the magic blue smoke is released, it won't go back in!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This you can ignore:
Code:
avrdude.exe: please define PAGEL and BS2 signals in the configuration file for part ATtiny85
It is only relevant to parallel programmers which you aren't using.

This is the issue:
Code:
Yikes!  Invalid device signature
Which means there is likely a problem with your connections which means avrdude can't read the chip.
Logged

~Tom~

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have checked the resistance of every single wire and disconnected and connected everything back, like 5 times! still getting the same thing.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just used a different Arduino board, still the same result.
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 104
Posts: 6347
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've used the exact same instructions to program an Attiny45 using an Uno with no problems. I am running my Attiny at 1Mhz which I believe is the default.

Maybe you should try 1Mhz just to see if that works. If so it would suggest the fuses are not being set properly for 8Mhz - but I'm afraid I have no idea why or what to do.

...R
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Tried 1 Mhz still not working..
Logged

Valencia, Spain
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 144
Posts: 5354
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

avrdude: Device signature = 0xffffff
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.

0xffffff means bad wiring - it hasn't managed to get a real device signature off the chip.
Logged

No, I don't answer questions sent in private messages (but I do accept thank-you notes...)

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

avrdude: Device signature = 0xffffff
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.

0xffffff means bad wiring - it hasn't managed to get a real device signature off the chip.

I checked the resistance between the pins of the ATTiny and the ends of the jumpers that are in the Arduino.
I also used a different set of jumpers, different board, different chip. No luck at all ~_~
Logged

Leeds, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 78
Posts: 1719
Once the magic blue smoke is released, it won't go back in!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It could mean that you have incorrectly programmed the fuses so that it requires an external oscillator. If you are using ArduinoISP, you can modify the sketch to output an 8MHz square wave from one of the PWM pins which you can then feed in to the XTAL1 pin of the attiny.

Add these lines to the setup() of ArduinoISP:
Code:
  pinMode(3,OUTPUT);
  TCCR2A = _BV(COM2B0) | _BV(WGM21);
  TCNT2 = 0;
  OCR2A = 0;
  TIMSK2 = 0;
  TCCR2B = _BV(CS20);

Then connect Digital Pin 3 of the Arduino to Pin2 of the Attiny85.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2013, 01:50:52 pm by Tom Carpenter » Logged

~Tom~

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It could mean that you have incorrectly programmed the fuses so that it requires an external oscillator. If you are using ArduinoISP, you can modify the sketch to output an 8MHz square wave from one of the PWM pins which you can then feed in to the XTAL1 pin of the attiny.

Add these lines to the setup() of ArduinoISP:
Code:
  pinMode(3,OUTPUT);
  TCCR2A = _BV(COM2B0) | _BV(WGM21);
  TCNT2 = 0;
  OCR2A = 0;
  TIMSK2 = 0;
  TCCR2B = _BV(CS20);

Then connect Digital Pin 3 of the Arduino to Pin2 of the Attiny85.
same result :/
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 104
Posts: 6347
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I know this is probably a stupid comment, but are you sure you have the Attiny the right way round?

Have you checked that there is 5v and Gnd at the appropriate Attiny pins?

I think there is advice in the  ArduinoISP file about using LEDs to monitor the uploading - may be useful. I did see a web page about this (the LEDS) somewhere, but I can't remember. Google might find it for you.

...R
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

well here is an image of the setup

on the upper arm of the Arduino the (yellow,green,blow,red) are connected to (13,12,11,10)
on the lower part (red,orange,white) are (reset,5V,GND)
I did a continuity check on from the legs of the ATTiny to arduino, and also checked the voltage, and changed the bread-board just now.
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 104
Posts: 6347
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No image smiley

...R
Logged

Valencia, Spain
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 144
Posts: 5354
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Are these chips new? Is there any way they could have been programmed before?

Logged

No, I don't answer questions sent in private messages (but I do accept thank-you notes...)

Valencia, Spain
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 144
Posts: 5354
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Where are they from? The markings on the chip in that image don't look like my Tiny85s. Can you post a close-up of the chip?
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 06:17:22 am by fungus » Logged

No, I don't answer questions sent in private messages (but I do accept thank-you notes...)

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
Jump to: