Go Down

Topic: I need help in starting a project please :) (Read 2033 times) previous topic - next topic

Nicholas_Agius

Hello,

This is my first time trying something concerning programming and micro controllers and i heard the Arduino is the best choice one can make  :)

I am trying to build a system on a marine diesel engine that can send the engine at different TDC (Top dead centers). the engine will be turned with a turning gear attached to the flywheel and attached to the flywheel there is to be 6 sensors (still have to decide what type to buy since i need to be sure the system will work) the sensors will give a signal to the Arduino micro controller that the TDC is at the position indicated.

Now for my question that i would like to ask, what type of Arduino board  should you recommend that will be able to process the above mentioned system? another thing that i wish to implement to the system is wireless remote with a display on it that asks the user where the engine is and where would the user like the engine to be sent. any help where to start and what board is better suited for this job please?

Attached is the turning gear that will be used which i built as last years project for my thesis and this years thesis is this project  :)

Thanks in Advance

nickgammon

What sort of sensors are these? Is it detecting optically if a cam or something is in a certain position?

Why 6 sensors?
Please post technical questions on the forum, not by personal message. Thanks!

More info: http://www.gammon.com.au/electronics

bigred1212

You are talking 6 sensor inputs and probably a relay out put or two if the system is supposed to move things, and then some communications pins.  

The Yun has built in Ethernet and WiFi.  

I don't know C-R-A-P about setting up the kind of communication you are talking about, but if I had to learn it, starting with something that has some built in capability might be nice.