Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Control motor speed?  (Read 4792 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everyone,

I am very new to Arduino and I am in need of some help. I have a project for school that requires me to use a motor, to raise a platform, that will controlled by Arduino. I was curious if I could vary the speed of my motor? By this I am referring to starting at zero, ramping up to a specific speed at a moderate pace, and then slowing down to zero. I guess the easiest way to explain this is hooking up my motor to a potentiometer and moving it from off, to on, then back off again. Similar to driving miss daisy and not a rocket type of deal if you get what I'm saying. The potentiometer would be my preferred method if I could touch the board, but it has to be autonomous. Any help would be greatly appreciated! smiley

Thank you all very much,

JensAl.

New Jersey
Faraday Member
View Profile

PWM is another way to achieve what you're looking for - take a look at analogWrite.

The Netherlands
Edison Member
View Profile

PWM is superior to that potentiometer you mentioned.

Ramping up/down from/to 0 will not work like you are expecting at the moment.
It's almost impossible to predict where you will end up, but i can tell you your range will be much less than 0 - 100 (%).

I'd build a test platform and do some tests to find the best values for your application.

Have a look at "blink without delay".
Did you connect the grounds ?
Je kunt hier ook in het Nederlands terecht: http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html

View Profile

Hello JensAI,

Hmm.. controlling the speed of a direct current motor ( DC motor ) is of an average difficult ( at least if you want to make it really cool ).

What you can do to make it simplier is to send a PWM ( pulse width module ) to an analogOutput so it can control the speed rate of a switch. Then the switch could to turn the motor on and off

Best regards!

The Netherlands
Edison Member