Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Newbie guidance for dslr timelapse controller (use relay or transistor?)  (Read 748 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

***Complete newbie warning***

I have chosen to make a time-lapse controller for my dslr camera as I think it should be a useful and relatively easy thing to achieve.

To make the camera take a picture remotely I plug a 2.5mm stereo jack into the camera and short the lower and upper sections of the opposite jack and it will snap away.

I want to do this with timing of snaps controlled from Arduino which i think will actually be the easy part...

The bit im stuck on is  whether to use a relay or a transistor as my switch?  It is vital that I don't ruin my camera lol!

However the thing I seem to be struggling to get my head around with transistors (despite many youtube videos and googling) is regarding the voltage/current applied to the base...

Is the base voltage on a transistor isolated from the circuit running on the collector and emitter?  The reason I'm quizzing it is because I don't want any voltage coming from the arduino going into the camera... I only want it to effectively short the connection not put any unwanted voltage/current into my camera.

I'm quite a newbie so I may be missing some important things but will take as long as need to get my head around it before actually trying anything.  Hopefully someone can help or even point to something that might help explain what I'm getting at? 

Thanks for any help!

Edison Member
View Profile

You should use an optoisolator. That will completely isolate the camera from the Arduino.

Pete

Where are the Nick Gammons of yesteryear?

NSW Australia
Edison Member
View Profile

A transistor will do just fine - or two transistors if there are two separate contacts for focus and "shutter".