Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: ENC28J60  (Read 1571 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Great Forum!

I've managed to implement an Arduino embedded server based on:
http://www.nuelectronics.com/estore/index.php?main_page=project_eth

I have HanRun magjack just as in that tutorial, mounted on a SparkFun breakout board:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8790

In this article:
http://tuxgraphics.org/electronics/200606/article06061.shtml
Under the section "Step by step: Assembly and testing", It is recommended to first implement ENC chip independent of Atmega, test it, then step toward connecting the working circuit with ENC chip to Atmega (Arduino in my case).
I went with this approach as it is the first time I'm doing it and I'm a novice and have to test and go on, TDD smiley-wink

Now after finishing ENC28J60 part, I implemented the Step two of the article, which says: "older the ENC28J60, the magjack and all other parts around the ENC28J60 on the board, but not the Atmega88 microcontroller. Connect the circuit again to 5V power on Raw-DC-IN (limit the current to about 300mA,check that you get again 3.3V). Now connect an Ethernet cable from you Hub or Switch to the circuit. The green LED on the Magjack should go on and stay on. The link LED on your Hub/Switch should also go on".

My result is that, when I connect my ENC from MagJack to my laptop (on Win XP) Ethernet port, Windows first says "a network cable is connected" and then fades out with the same red X on the network connection.

Also, worst than that: my "green" LED (link) of the Rj45 MagJack goes on first, then after some seconds starts to do a few blinking and then fades out.