Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: sensing the speed (noise)  (Read 748 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 12
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everybody,

i'm sensing the speed of a wheel (bike) with a Dynamo (DC motor) and then i send the data to the serial port, the problem that i have is that the Dynamo(DC motor) is sending a lot of noise and because of that i can't get the correct data of speed.

there is a way with hardware and software to supress that noise?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1103
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
... is a way with hardware and software to supress that noise?
Yes, it is.
Best you start plotting the signal so we can have a look at the different situations, and explain how you tried to determine the velocity from that signal at the moment.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2010, 11:02:59 pm by mpeuser » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 145
Posts: 9682
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You might try some capacitors like below.

http://www.pololu.com/docs/0J15/9
Logged

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1103
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

But a dynamo should produce AC not DC...

Looks like another " Guess and fail" game  smiley-wink
« Last Edit: August 30, 2010, 11:22:14 pm by mpeuser » Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 17
Posts: 2884
Gorm deficient
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
But a dynamo should produce AC not DC
Maybe this is a language thing - in English, a dynamo is specifically a DC generator.
Logged

Per Arduino ad Astra

Lancashire, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 9
Posts: 1991
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Bicycle generators are commonly called dynamos (at least in blighty) despite them almost universally producing AC. Its a misnomer, just like central heating calorifiers are almost universally called 'boilers' despite them most definitely not being boilers.


Driving incandescent lamps it makes little difference if they are AC or DC.
Logged


0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 12
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Problem solved, thanks..

i was a little confuse of the voltage of the dynamo, and it was AC,, so i did a rectifier bridge and a filter, so now works perfectly
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1103
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Maybe this is a language thing - in English, a dynamo is specifically a DC generator
Most foreigners - I think - are not aware of this. In the German language the term Dynamo is nearly exclusively used for the thing at bicycles.

In a more technical slang Dynamo would actually describe an AC generator, in contrast to Gleichstrommaschine which is explicitely DC (=Gleichstrom). In English it is vice versa: 'dynamo' is DC and 'alternator' is AC...

The term 'generator' is - in both languages - used unspecifically.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 03:09:58 pm by mpeuser » Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: