Go Down

Topic: Advise required to choose right arduino board (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

kumar_14

Hi,
     I am working on a project where I need to use 24 pins for output. Which board should I use for this purpose. Can I use mega for this purpose or should I go with uno and shift registers?

CrossRoads

Go with something in between - 1284P, with 32 IO.
I have kits ready to go.
http://www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17/
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

kumar_14

Dear CrossRoads,
                                Thank you for the reply. What is the difference between your board and mega? Because mega got 54 pins........ I am very new to MCU field somebody please help me to understand. I need to use 24 out put pins to control 24 servos. I understood that for powering servo i need external power. I am going to use arduino for controlling the power to servo and also I need 4 to 6 input pins. Please advise me which board should I choose ------------ uno with shift register or mega will serve?

capicoso

Nice one CrossRoads! I wasn't aware of these. I'll buy one in the future if you ship to Argentina.

I prefer CrossRoads 1284 board over the MEGA because once you finished your project, you can just take the Atmega1284 and put it in a standalone circuit, and this way, if you want to make many products, you won't have to buy a board for each finished unit. The MEGA has a SMD chip, so you can't take it, you have to sacrifice a whole board inside the unit. That's why I was sticking to Arduino UNO, because the atmega is DIP package. But now I saw CrossRoads'...

kumar_14

Hi capicoso,