Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: LCD 160 x 128 4.7inch controlled over long range wireless 3DR??  (Read 712 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,
I am new to arduino. Yeah I know, however I have over 20years of IT experience and my knowledge is broad, just not extensive on electronics side.
OK so here is my project. I am considering arduino but uncertin if the components are available to solve my problem.
I have seen the video experimenter board that overlays characters on AV stream and also the Maxim chip used in the MinimOSD boards to overlay telemetry data over AV, however I'm wondering if it's possible (without significant engineering) to read LCD data (yet to confirm the devices LCD pinout) and either convert it so that the output is AV (instead of the regular LCD cable 20pin or other...).
Alternatively, if I can't do that, then I am considering multiplexing or relaying the data using Xbee or 3DR or one of those to a remove LCD.
The reason for wanting to do the first option is that it eliminates the need for a second remote LCD as my current project already uses a AVin Display and 5.8GHZ FPV gear. If I can get arduino or some other processor/solution to convert the LCD data to AV then I can just use off-the-shelf AV switcher into my 5.8GHZ TX back to the base station.

Why LCD?  I have an product (purchased off the shelf that has a 4inch 160 x 128 LCD screen), I want to use the product on a remote unmanned vehicle, however weight restrictions mean I can only have the devices main board and sensors on the vehicle and I'd like to see it's LCD/have the LCD display at the base station.
So I'm considering dismantling the device and using arduino to do away with the LCD and integrate with on board FPV OR use arduino to relay (maybe multiplex) the LCD digital pins/output back to the base station.