Go Down

Topic: Getting help to setup with voltage regulators and level shifters (Read 522 times) previous topic - next topic

twirap

Hi. I am a beginner to arduino and electronics. I see some cool things I can do but I don't know how to come up with the required resistor values or additional components I need in addition to the voltage regulators so I thought I could get help here on what electric components I need to build certain circuits. Below are the circuits I want since they are the most common logic levels.

I know most electronic devices operate on 1.8 V, 3.3 V, and 5 V logic. So what voltage regulators can I get to step down from higher voltage to the listed voltages of 1.8 V, 3.3 V and 5 V? Also, what valued capacitors and resistors do I need to build each of the voltage regulator? I don't know how you calculator the capacitor or resistor values needed for these circuits.

Secondly, the most common electronic devices that operate on 1.8 V, 3.3 V and 5 V logic will also need level shifters if I intend to use arduino to input to their buttons...So what level shifters can I buy for: 1.8 V, 3.3 V, 5 V logic operating level shifters and do I need any additional components like resistors or capacitors for these?

For each of the voltage regulators and level shifters, it would be helpful if you can tell me specific part numbers I can order.
The main purpose of this is that I like to modify lots of hardware and lack the knowledge of what additional components I need to use each of the main hardware and because I order most the hardware from chinese websites, it takes about 30 days to get to me and if I buy a voltage regulator and find out I needed capacitor for it then I have to wait another 30 days to get the additional components...This can really delay any project I want to work on.