Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: ir PNA4601M - what is normal behaviour?  (Read 702 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi techies,

I'm trying to learn from a PNA4601M connected to arduino.
I've tried several programs, but the thing is:
When I don't send any infrared signal, the receiver still sends data towards arduino like this with the Raw IR commander:

Ready to decode IR!
Heard 3-pulse long IR signal
Heard 1-pulse long IR signal
PLAY
REWIND
FORWARD
Heard 1-pulse long IR signal
PLAY
REWIND
FORWARD


All this without ever send anything to the receiver. Is it broke?
Also when i hook up a led at the output of the ir it flashes without me sending ir.

I've also tried IRanalyzer.pde, which gave me something like this when I send ir:
Analyze IR Remote
Waiting...
Bit stream detected!
0      0
280      0
280      1
198728      1
198728      0
198832      0
198832      1
19788      1
19788      0
19860      0
19860      1
248744      1
248744      0
248844      0
248844      1
192004      1
192004      0
etc.
etc.

But I'm not sure how I can translate this to hex, and create an action to it.
Could also someone send me to the right direction to buy a new type of receiver? I'm thinking of: GP1UX511QS. Would this do?
 

« Last Edit: October 28, 2010, 06:23:24 pm by boomy » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 4
Posts: 310
Posts: 40382
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Make sure your receiver is wired correctly.  You can't just attach it directly, you have to wire it with some capacitors and resistors.  Look at the schematic for this receiver board: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8554  I bought that receiver board and it works fine, you can just stick the wires into it without making any circuitry yourself.  
I also use this library with it: http://www.arcfn.com/2009/08/multi-protocol-infrared-remote-library.html
« Last Edit: October 28, 2010, 07:47:41 pm by Big_Oil » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It looks like this one on the photo:

I only have read you should put a resistor between the output of the ir and arduino data line.
Or am I wrong?
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: