Rabbit killer

Hello,

I'm not an engineer, so please excuse dumb questions.

The area I live in is infested by rabbits. Professional exterminators are expensive, and the varmints seem to know when I'm about with a gun. I have an idea for a device to electrocute them consisting of a 12V car battery charging a capacitor bank, the bank connected to two probes which if shorted by a rabbit would zap it. (I have no pets to worry about).

Am I right in saying that 12V would not supply sufficient charge to kill a rabbit and I would need to boost the voltage across the capacitors using a circuit similar to a camera flash gun or maybe a boost converter ?

Can anyone point me to a circuit design that would do the job ? For safety I would need a facility to discharge the cap, but I presume that's just a switch to short the caps through a resistor.

Any advice appreciated.

google: "solar powered electric fence schematic"

I suppose an electric fence energiser would work, but it produces a continuous pulse which I would think runs the battery down faster. My idea was just charge up a capacitor, or a bank of them until they are discharged by a rabbit making contact with the probes, then charge them up again.

Buy/inspect a cheap fly zapper, then just use more powerful components. Will see if I can get a photo of mine.

I have no pets to worry about

Speaking of pets, that strikes me as a far better solution. Get a few dogs that like chasing rabbits. If you get them from a shelter / rescue / pound you will be solving several problems.

...and the varmints seem to know when I'm about with a gun.

Which means they will also learn to avoid being electrocuted.

Even if it is about rabbits and in Australia, I think "cruelty to animals" could be an issue here.
(If you cannot make a quick, clean kill, please do not try to kill!)

You would need high voltage and relatively high current, certainly not a beginners project.
You, or someone else unsuspectingly handling it, could get hurt.