Go Down

Topic: Problem with generation of TTL Pulses with defined length using timers (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

MarinaK

I'm new to microcontroller programming and to arduino, so please excuse me if I'm asking obvious things.

I'm trying to generate a TLL pulse with a predefined length after the ADC has detected the defined threshold. So far succeeded to detect the threshold (I used this post as an example http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=205096.0).
For my application it is important to minimize the jitter between the detection of the threshold and the generation of the pulse. So I can't use arduionos functions.

My idea was to use a second timer to define the length of the pulse. In the datasheet I've found that I can restart the timer after a number of counts defined in the TC_RC register, which should raise a flag in the TC_SRx in the CPCS byte.
So I definde the value of RC to correspond to a 75 ms long pulse but the CPCS bit appears to never be set. The code compiles and I don't get any errors.
I've inserted the whole code here:
Code: [Select]
void setup()
{
 Serial.begin (115200) ; // was for debugging
 adc_setup () ;         // setup ADC

pmc_enable_periph_clk (TC_INTERFACE_ID + 0*3+0) ;  // clock the TC0 channel 0 (timer for the adc)
 pmc_enable_periph_clk (TC_INTERFACE_ID + 0*3+1) ;  // clock the TC0 channel 1 (timer for the pulse length)

TcChannel * t = &(TC0->TC_CHANNEL)[0] ;    // pointer to TC0 registers for its channel 0
 t->TC_CCR = TC_CCR_CLKDIS |TC_CCR_CLKEN;  // disable internal clocking while setup regs
 t->TC_IDR = 0xFFFFFFFF ;     // disable interrupts
 t->TC_SR ;                   // read int status reg to clear pending
 t->TC_CMR = TC_CMR_TCCLKS_TIMER_CLOCK1 |   // use TCLK1 (prescale by 2, = 42MHz)
             TC_CMR_WAVE |                  // waveform mode
             TC_CMR_WAVSEL_UP_RC |          // count-up PWM using RC as threshold