Go Down

Topic: 3.3v logic levels interface with standard TTL/CMOS logic - How to do it... (Read 2 times) previous topic - next topic

simonbond

Dear Forum,

Hi, I am fairly new to the Arduino Due.

I note that the Due uses 3.3v levels. In that case, how would one interface to the standard 5v TTL levels, or the even higher voltages of CMOS? Say for instance octal data latches, Digital to Analogue Converters etc.

I thought there may be some suitable voltage translator ICs, or could be achieved with some resistors & discrete devices maybe?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Simon B.
-----------------------------------------------
Simon Bond MEng, BSc(Hons), IEng, MRAeS
-----------------------------------------------

CrossRoads

This chip looks like it could work well
http://www.adafruit.com/products/735#Technical_Details
Power from 3.3V, output on 5V side should go high enough to be seen as a 1.

Other variations in pin count, packages in the same family:
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en/integrated-circuits-ics/logic-translators/2556437?k=74lvc
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

CrossRoads

Interesting - digikey search for 74lvc245 brings up the thru hole part.
More general search for 74lvc does not show any thru hole parts.

"74lvc through hole" works tho.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

promacjoe

This problem has been around since the early days of logic circuits.
When it comes to CMOS chips, There is no easy answer.
The original CMOS chips Ranged in voltage from 15V  and in some cases up to 30V.