Go Down

Topic: cannot upload sketch to UNO R3 - Expected signature for ATMEGA328P is 1E 95 14 (Read 3405 times) previous topic - next topic

Dunny

Let me state that I am a complete novice trying to use arduino for the very first time.

I have a ATmega328P R3 ATmega16U2 arduino board and the 1.0.1 IDE running on ubuntu 12.04. When I plug the board into my usb the led on pin 13 blinks. I have selected UNO as the 'board' under the 'tools' menu.  I select dev/ttyUSB0 as my port.

When I try to upload a sketch I have problems it says...
"wrong microcontroller found - did you select the correct board from the tools>board menu?" (I did)
"dude: Expected signature for ATMEGA328P is 1E 95 14
         Double check chip, or use -F to override this check"

So can anyone out there help?
how would I check the chip?

In searching on these forums I find lots of people who are trying to 'bootload' onto a chip who get this same message and must edit arvdude.config but I don't think this applies to me - I have the blinking led  on my board which I believe means bootloading is not necessary, it came with it already on.

Any help at all would be appreciated, I don't even really know if the question as I have put it makes sense.

spycatcher2k

Drew.
http://www.uk-pcb.co.uk - My UK Based PCB Fab & Assembly Company
Design work undertaken
SMD & Thru-Hole assembly

Dunny

just pressing the big upload arrow, not using any special programmers or anything

spycatcher2k

Is this an official Arduino or a clone from eBay - gumtree etc. ? As it may have a different chip, but nothing we cant get around.
Drew.
Design work undertaken
SMD & Thru-Hole assembly

Dunny

Thanks for your interest. It is from china via ebay.

I have maybe made a little progress but have come up against another problem!

I looked at the verbose output and noticed that the boards signature and arvdude config expected signature did not match so I changed the signature in arvdude to

"signature      = 0x1e 0x93 0x07;"