Go Down

Topic: Arduino controlled ROV (Read 2325 times) previous topic - next topic

SKY

Dec 18, 2010, 04:47 pm Last Edit: Dec 18, 2010, 04:48 pm by SKY Reason: 1
Hey all
Im currently building a rov and am considering using a arduino to control it. I was considering the Uno since this is the only 1 available here :)
but since im new to all this i still have some questions

1.Can a arduino Uno control 4 brushless esc's + motors and 4 relays at once? (motors and relays have to all be separatly controllable). Does the uno have enough channels/outputs to control all these functions at once. Would there still be ports open to control more functions?

2.Would i need some kind of shield to run the esc's and motors or can they be connected directly to the Uno?

3.Could i control the motors via a joystick connected to pc with usb(for variable speed)

4.Probably a stupid Q but the arduino cant be used when not plugged into a pc right? :)

If someone could help me here i would really appreciate it
Thanks
Philipp

Sorry if some of the questions are stupid, im still new to all this :)

jada

.Can a arduino Uno control 4 brushless esc's + motors and 4 relays at once? (motors and relays have to all be separatly controllable). Does the uno have enough channels/outputs to control all these functions at once. Would there still be ports open to control more functions?

YES ARDUINO MAKES IT POSSIBLE  :D
Would i need some kind of shield to run the esc's and motors or can they be connected directly to the Uno?

well the ESc's wont need a sheild
But the motors need one ( consider building one your self )
3.Could i control the motors via a joystick connected to pc with usb(for variable speed)

YES
4.Probably a stupid Q but the arduino cant be used when not plugged into a pc right?

YES

HOpe this helps ;)

Groove

Dec 18, 2010, 04:53 pm Last Edit: Dec 18, 2010, 04:54 pm by GrooveFlotilla Reason: 1
Motor speed and direction  for all four motors?