Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Help  !  Where can I buy Buckled cables  (Read 1909 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I am new to the Arduino  (just about to buy one  plus an expansion sheild) and it seems that I will  need 'buckled connectors' however I cannot seem to find a   supplier (I have already tried Ebay ) Iwould appreciate any information anyone could give as to a possible supplier.
Logged

Lancashire, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 8
Posts: 1992
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is just me that has never heard of buckled cables ? There is screwy spacing on pins 8 - Aref, but the expansion shield will take care of that, care to elaborate on what you're going to do with the arduino ?
Logged


Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16548
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Not screwy, it's the term used by the chinese vendors that sell sensors using locking 3 and 4 pin connectors to their Arduino connector interface shield. Seeeduino sells some I think:

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/index.php?main_page=advanced_search_result&search_in_description=1&keyword=buckle&inc_subcat=0&sort=20a&page=2&zenid=9f6118c193cee9f8b7337d4df91a2eca

Lefty
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 05:13:36 pm by retrolefty » Logged

Lancashire, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 8
Posts: 1992
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Now I'm really confused, I think I'll stick to bending socket pins before I solder them to the bottom of the strip board.......    smiley
Logged


Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16548
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well let me see if I can help the OP with references. He can correct me if I misinterruted his question.

Several asian vendors sell a connecting shield for a series of electronic components and sensors they call bricks. This is the shield part and notice the use of 3 pin snap connectors for the analog inputs and a 4 pin connector for the I2C/serial connetion:

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/electronic-brick-shield-v4-p-458.html?cPath=132_134&zenid=9f6118c193cee9f8b7337d4df91a2eca

A typical brick component are like this:

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/electronic-brick-big-button-switch-digital-p-461.html?cPath=156_160&zenid=9f6118c193cee9f8b7337d4df91a2eca

or this:

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/sensors-temperature-and-humidity-c-144_147.html?zenid=9f6118c193cee9f8b7337d4df91a2eca

I think they usually supply a buckled connector when they sell you a brick device, but if needed one can buy the connectored cable as seperate items as shown towards the bottom of this page:

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/index.php?main_page=advanced_search_result&search_in_description=1&keyword=buckle&inc_subcat=0&sort=20a&page=2&zenid=9f6118c193cee9f8b7337d4df91a2eca

The term buckle, to me does seem to be unique to these products and it's probably a translation thing, but it's not that far a leap to accept.  smiley-wink

Don't forget to buckle up for safety.

Lefty
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 06:53:45 pm by retrolefty » Logged

Central MN, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 65
Posts: 6928
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hahaha, yeah, that might be a Chinglish invention or maybe translated from English to Japaness then Chinese and back to English. According to page 79 on Jameco's catelog, it is called keyed shrouded headers and connectors. Parts 152734 and 152741.
Logged


Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16548
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Do we know what the actual connector is called?  make? model number?
Is it some sort of latching variety of JST? Is it one of the standard pin spacings? 0.1"?  1mm?  1.5mm?  2mm?

I was hoping that if Jim could identify what expansion shield board he is asking about,
we could trace the connector type back from there.

They are .1" pin spacing. They have a plastic locking lever that snaps into the socket and locks automatically as you press in the cable, but you have to manually press down on the lever to release and pull out the cable.
Not sure if there is a industrial name/type for these. It may be something unique to China for now?

Lefty
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 07:01:16 pm by retrolefty » Logged

London, GB
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 332
Nothing works.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

As far as I'm aware (and a year ago I wasn't), the buckled cable or connector is basically like the audio connector from an internal CD drive to a muthaboard. It's that sort of connector (I think), and the “buckle” terminology seems to be the little clippy pressy-inny bit that locks it in place.
Logged

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16548
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
According to page 79 on Jameco's catelog, it is called keyed shrouded headers and connectors. Parts 152734 and 152741.

Those do look as far as I can tell exactly the same as the 4 pin buckle connector I'm talking about. However I don't see a Jameco listing for the more common and often used 3 pin buckle connector.

Lefty
Logged

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16548
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It's that sort of connector (I think), and the “buckle” terminology seems to be the little clippy pressy-inny bit that locks it in place.

I agree, and I'm sure one could just cut down a female .1" header to 3 or 4 pin size and it would mate up fine, short the preesy-inny locky thingee.

Lefty

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

emartee has them
Logged

SF Bay Area
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 10
Posts: 1235
Arduino Ninja
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It would help if the OP came back in here and clarified matters.

As far as Seeedstudio goes, I know the connectors they use are compatible (cheap clones of!) Tyco AMPMODU MTE 103956 (tin) and 103957 (gold) series latching polarized connectors, available from Digikey: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?vendor=0&keywords=103956

They are not horribly expensive. Most cheap crimping tools won't work with the preloaded housing though, so you'll need to do some disassembly.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 02:13:39 am by macegr » Logged

Unique RGB LED Modules and Arduino shields: http://www.macetech.com/store

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for the fast response guys !

 Sorry I didn't give enough information, they are 3 wire and as you surmised the cables are the 'Chinese ' ones ( most of the shields on EBAY seem to use them)   see    
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Arduino-Sensor-Shield-V4-digital-analog-module-servos-/370386073399?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item563cbaf737#ht_3604wt_1026

The only supplier I can find is in america , I think the postage / wait would kill it !  this link shows the cable

http://www.emartee.com/product/41684/Arduino-Common-Sensor-Cable-15cm
Logged

London, GB
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 332
Nothing works.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Looks like a three connector version of this (which is four connector):
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=28726 (ZV00A)
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks, got it sorted now, realised that the supplier was in fact from china  emartee as advised, ... placed my order for a  Roboduino  as well so now its time to start to learn ' processing' whilst waiting for my delivery

Jim
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: