Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Author Topic: Problem with Freeduino Serial v2.0 board  (Read 4231 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Brazil
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 443
..., to learn, to know, to make, to share, to l...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I understand and agree about the possibility of not beeing a hardware problem. I just thought hardware was a possibility...

And reading your last message, I think you must try to bootload with board type "NG or older with Atmega168" instead of "Diecimila". I think there are differences on how they handle TX and RX Atmega pins (I think Diecimila bootloader turns on pull up resistors), and other differences too. Can you try to bootload it with "NG or older w/Atmega168" and test it again?
Logged

PCB Designer

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6250
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I also thought this is a hardware problem because all the sketches that fail on the serial board consistently upload on the USB board!

The supplier, nkcelectronics  is aware of my problem and has not mentioned trying an older bootloader with the serial board. But I will ask them see what they say.

Thanks for the suggestion, I hope that's all that is needed to get the serial boards to work.
Logged

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6250
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Update:  I discovered that I can upload even the problem sketches if I do a manual reset. Most sketches will upload without the reset but the ones that were having errors seem to upload ok if I reset a few seconds after starting the upload.

The board does have the 0.1uf capacitor connecting the DTR (RS232 pin 4) to ICSP reset (pin 5) and seems to work intermittently when relying on the auto reset.

I am still looking at why the auto-reset is intermittent and why one of my boards seems much more reliable than the other
Logged

Brazil
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 443
..., to learn, to know, to make, to share, to l...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I told you...
Quote
try pressing the reset button. Probably the upload will work. It seems your auto reset is not working well.

Open windows;
change COM port speed to 19200;
Run only IDE (close all non used programs);
Bootload using NG or older/168 configuration;
Try to upload sketch.

Logged

PCB Designer

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6250
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Adilson, I have been testing with the com port set to 19200 for a few days now. It did not seem to make any difference.

The background CPU activity of the tasks open when I am testing is around 3%.  I would be surprised if shutting everying down made a difference but I will try anyway.

I am  still waiting to hear from NKCelectronics about the correct bootloader for my board.

Again, many thanks for taking the time post the suggestions.


Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've been having problems with a serial kit I bought from the same place as you.  It starts up fine, blinks fine. but I get errors when trying to upload a program.  Same computer runs a real Arduino USB board perfectly.  I'll try some tests on OSX, which is what I mainly use.  My macbook works perfectly with the usb version, but I'll report back after some tests on that machine.  I'm starting to think the extra 16 bucks is worth no struggles + USB.

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No luck in OSX either.

I'm using a Keyspan USB to serial converter.

I think I'll just use the USB one that works and not buy any of these kits anymore.  I wish I could make them myself, but it's not worth the trouble right now.  I built a paia synth and it all works, so I think i should be able to do this right.  Too bad.  smiley-sad

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 205
Don't Panic
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It seems issues with the serial version are common. We're discussing a max232 based serial version in another thread.
Logged

iDuino - MaxSerial - [url=http://spi

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 33
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am seeing this same problem with my RBBB freeduino connected with a usb to ttl ftdi cord.
I can repro the problem consistently and if I unplug the cable from the computer then plug it back in
I will be able to load the next time, but not again until I unplug/plug.

hmmmmm. Anyone else seeing this?
Logged

USA
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 452
Freeduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I would like to clarify that the subject of this thread should be "Problem with Freeduino Serial v1.0 board".  Freeduino Serial v2.0 board is MAX232 (or compatible chip) based and eliminates the problems reported on this thread.  The confusion comes from the fact that Freeduino Serial v1.0 board was based on the "Arduino serial v2.0" board, with the "autoreset" hack.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2008, 10:37:55 pm by nkcelectronics » Logged

USA
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 452
Freeduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I am seeing this same problem with my RBBB freeduino connected with a usb to ttl ftdi cord.
I can repro the problem consistently and if I unplug the cable from the computer then plug it back in
I will be able to load the next time, but not again until I unplug/plug.

hmmmmm. Anyone else seeing this?
When you unplug/plug the USB cable, are you resetting the RBBB freeduino or it is powered externally?
« Last Edit: May 18, 2008, 10:40:36 pm by nkcelectronics » Logged

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6250
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I would like to clarify that the subject of this thread should be "Problem with Freeduino Serial v1.0 board".  Freeduino Serial v2.0 board is MAX232 (or compatible chip) based and eliminates the problems reported on this thread.  The confusion comes from the fact that Freeduino Serial v1.0 board was based on the "Arduino serial v2.0" board, with the "autoreset" hack.

Your website describes the old board discussed in this thread as:
Freeduino Arduino-compatible board RS232 serial version 2.0

Perhaps it would be less confusing if the max232 version  was named something other than
Freeduino Serial v2.0 board

BTW, I have been using your new board for a while now and it works great!

edit: I will be happy to change the title, please suggest what you think is less confusing and point me to the instructions on how to change an existing threads title.


« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 03:36:30 am by mem » Logged

USA
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 452
Freeduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have no idea on how to change the title of a thread, but I think a couple of posts, like the last ones, trying to clarify the more than confusing naming of Arduino variants is fine.

Product naming is confusing... I started the serial kit as a modified Arduino v2.0 board, with diecimila compatible autoreset, then the Freeduino name started to be known in the community, so I renamed the same product as Freeduino serial v1.0... then I switched to the MAX232 and named the new kit Freeduino serial v2.0

In conclusion:

Arduino serial v2.0 = original Arduino team PCB design.  Some PCBs are still sold, but no kits or assembled boards exist

Freeduino serial v1.0 = Arduino serial v2.0 based board, with diecimila compatible autoreset.  Still uses transistors to RS232 signal leveling

Freeduino serial v2.0 = New serial board design.  Introduced MAX232 compatible chips as RS232 driver and removed transistors.  Still has autoreset feature, so it is diecimila compatible.  If you have a PC or laptop with RS232, it is a cheaper alternative to the more expensive USB boards... and it works just great!
Logged

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
Jump to: