Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino 021 resets wrong USB  (Read 2065 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 66
CJH Innovations
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have two arduinos plugged into two USB ports (USB4, USB10)

If I select one of them as a target in the pull down menu (USB4)

Then
  both of the connected Arduino boards will be reset when I load to the target.

Shouldn't the Arduino 021 IDE reset only the target board on USB4?
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 08:45:07 am by jahronchek » Logged

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16556
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Wow thats a new problem symptom. And possibly something never tested for. And yes one would hope the IDE would only reset the selected channel. I would think that it might be a PC driver issue rather then an IDE caused problem and it might be best first to try and determine if this symptom is seen on all three platforms, windows, mac, linux.

 Hope you can get some help figuring this one out.  smiley-wink

Lefty
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 10:37:54 am by retrolefty » Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 170
Posts: 12483
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Do you have one or two IDE's ?

If you have two you might simply have to (re)start both of them separately and not use File -> New from the menu. There was another thread lately with a similar error.

What platform do you use?

Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have also had this issue a few times. I have one board connected that I am not actively using but is playing music etc (normally playing music), then I upload and the one playing music will reset and go back to the start of the folder of music it is playing through.

Never had a major problem with it, it's just rather annoying.

Mowcius
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 118
Posts: 8962
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I would think that with two IDEs started that the different serial port selection might keep the actions seperated between the boards.
Logged

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16556
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well I would call it a bug if a single instance of the IDE reset comm ports other then the single select comm port selected.

Lefty
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 66
CJH Innovations
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

you asked: Do you have one or two IDE's ?

I started one IDE, then opened another sketch in a new window. I call that one IDE with two windows opened.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 03:26:48 pm by jahronchek » Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 170
Posts: 12483
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I started one IDE, then opened another sketch in a new window. I call that one IDE with two windows opened.
OK,

Try to start two IDE's by doubleclicking two different .pde files and check if the problem still occurs.
Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Well I would call it a bug if a single instance of the IDE reset comm ports other then the single select comm port selected.
That's what it does. I have one sketch open fiddling with one board.

The other board is connected but not being used by any instances of the IDE.

Not sure if it always does this or just on occasion but I think it always does it.
Today it seemed to 'half reset' my board too. The music was still playing from where it was (will only stop when arduino is restarted - as long as the rMP3 has power it will keep playing) but the LCD displaying the visualiser froze. I had to reset the board to get the LCD to start working again.

I will look into it more when I get the chance (and I remember smiley-razz)
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 66
CJH Innovations
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well, I tried it again. This time I connected both USB cables and then opened one IDE window. It reset both micro boards once at this point.

I selected the USB for the Duemilanove and loaded a sketch for that target. Both boards reset again.

So I compiled and loaded the sketch to the '2009' board. Then I clicked on the 'Serial Monitor' icon. It  reset both boards again.

So it has nothing to do with having multiple IDEs or multiple sketches opened at the same time.

Maybe it is in the version of AVRdude or some other low level piece of the system.

I use one '2009' to test the other '2009' and every time this reset buggers up the tests.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 10:30:57 pm by jahronchek » Logged

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 331
Posts: 16556
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well that kind of sucks. Tell them to fix it.  smiley-wink

The only short term fix I can suggest would be for you to defeat the auto-reset function on the board(s). Just wire a 150 ohm resistor between the +5 volt pin and the reset pin. Remove the resistor when you want to upload to it.

Lefty

« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 11:11:30 pm by retrolefty » Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Well, I tried it again. This time I connected both USB cables and then opened one IDE window. It reset both micro boards once at this point.

I selected the USB for the Duemilanove and loaded a sketch for that target. Both boards reset again.

So I compiled and loaded the sketch to the '2009' board. Then I clicked on the 'Serial Monitor' icon. It  reset both boards again.

So it has nothing to do with having multiple IDEs or multiple sketches opened at the same time.

Maybe it is in the version of AVRdude or some other low level piece of the system.

I use one '2009' to test the other '2009' and every time this reset buggers up the tests.
Yeah that's what I thought.

Quote
Well that kind of sucks. Tell them to fix it.
David, fix it  ;D

Logged

SF Bay Area (USA)
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 106
Posts: 6379
Strongly opinionated, but not official!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Quote
I have two arduinos plugged into two USB ports (USB4, USB10)
David, fix it
So which operating system (and versions, etc) is this?  I didn't think that ANY of them ended up naming the ports "USBn"...
Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 3
Posts: 1001
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
which operating system (and versions, etc) is this?
... and whether any/all the boards are connected to an external USB HUB or not?
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Right. Windows 7 ultimate, two different ports (neither on hubs, one connected to a mobo port and one to the front case port (from mobo plug) so they are not even on the same internal hub.
One Arduino Duemilanove and one rDuino LEDHead.

I will get off my laptop and go try some more stuff in a bit.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: