Go Down

Topic: Arduino: Good for prototype...but production? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

dsengere

Hi All. I am relatively new to the whole micro-controller world, so please bear with my ignorance!  :smiley-mr-green: I wish to plump the deep well of your knowledge.

I have been using Arduino as a prototyping micro-controller with Simulink, and I really enjoy the easy interface. But I know that it's not at all practical to crank out arduinos in a production scenario.   =(

Arduino is great for prototyping and learning. But most "real-world" applications (that is, beyond hobby and education) require a cost-effective, mass-producible solution.

That  being said, what platforms/methods/approaches are good for transitioning a prototype design into a production-intent design? I think it would suck to have to rip up the design and start from scratch. That's why I really like that Simulink supports code generation for tons of platforms, including the Arduino. Maybe I've answered my own question- using Simulink as a design platform is convenient as it allows you to take your model to many platforms. I suppose being proficient in C-code could be equally as helpful as many platforms accept C code and can compile it into assembly code, etc. 

Am I on target here, or way out in left field?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Grumpy_Mike

But most "real-world" applications (that is, beyond hobby and education) require a cost-effective, mass-producible solution.

So look up "stand alone arduino" and just build the bits you want of an arduino  into your device.

Chagrin

Take a look at this article and you'll find he makes some pretty convincing arguments why a complete Uno made sense for his production machine.

http://paulfurley.com/arduino-isnt-just-for-hackers/