Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Automotive grade arduino?  (Read 1518 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 102
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Are any of the "automotive grade" chips by atmel compatible with the arduino IDE?

Doesn't need to be pin compatible, as long as I could get the bootloader or program it in arduino-speak.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2010, 09:29:27 pm by george_graves » Logged

SF Bay Area (USA)
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 124
Posts: 6637
Strongly opinionated, but not official!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What do you expect to have happen?  It takes more than swapping out the CPU chip for an "automotive grade" version to make something be actually reliable in an automotive environment, and for most likely purposes, it shouldn't need to be...  I wouldn't recommend replacing your Toyota's brake controller with a hardened arduino, even if the original version does have a bug or two...

(If you're operating in the passenger compartment of an auto, not actually controlling any important functions of the car, you shouldn't need more than an automotive-aware power supply, and a lot of people trust their cell phones and iPods to less than that...)
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 102
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Funny.  No, I'm not looking to drop a amtmega chip in to replace my anti-lock breaks uC.  That's silly.  Come one now!  LOL.

I already have the power supply covered.

I was thinking more in terms of heat, and vibration.

Atmel *does* offer a line of automotive grade chips, so I think my question is not out of line at all.  Unless you have some insight?

« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 04:03:08 am by george_graves » Logged

Sweden
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 74
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Heat, and absence of, is always a risk. Vibration you can handle.
I haven't found a hardened Arduino yet. If you do, please tell me.
But if its monitoring or any other nonsafety, just mount it in a safe place. A lot of aftermarket electronics isn't hardened and still works.
I'm into automotive Arduinos too, but the target car is for pleasure only. Doesn't matter if it stops sometimes!  smiley-razz
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 04:35:28 am by srylul » Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 197
Posts: 12744
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I haven't found a hardened Arduino yet. If you do, please tell me.

Something like this?

http://www.ruggedcircuits.com/
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 04:38:10 am by bcook » Logged

Sweden
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 74
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Alright! Thats more like it!
Now the Arduino turned into a toy!
However, its a cheap developer tool.
If my Ecu-project works good enough, it will definitly run on a GatorPlus!
Thanks for the tip!
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 102
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Back to the original questions please.
Logged

Sweden
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 74
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Was the Gator offtopic? If so, I'm sorry.

Atmel.com claims they have automotive 328:s.
-40 to + 125 GrC.
http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/doc7810.pdf
Should work right in.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 06:03:30 am by srylul » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'd also like an answer to this question.  When I went to Digikey to buy chips for a board I'm designing, the 328 was end of life, so I purchased 25 of the 44 pin 324P devices.

My project is an alarm system for a vehicle that needs to be able to be 'rekeyed' (re-fobed actually) while out in the field.  (250 trucks)

The unit sends a GPS location via Cellular to the home office once every 20 minutes.  When it checks in, it will pick up a message if one is waiting and send it via serial to the 'duino which will then change the coding of the valid keyfob address.

As this is an 'automotive' application, I didn't see a problem using the 324P.
Logged

SF Bay Area (USA)
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 124
Posts: 6637
Strongly opinionated, but not official!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I hope you mean a 328P.  The 324P is a much different chip than the 328!
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

westfw - I sent you an IM....  I'd like to chat with you about the differences.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 102
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Why don't you do it here so we all can learn.   :smiley  Unless I'm missing the point of the forum.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 01:08:09 am by george_graves » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I was thinking that it would be kinda off topic...  But am open to doing it here.  Should it be split to another topic though?

I'd like to use the 324P as my controller and use the 'duino software with it.  What is needed to do this?  HOW is it so different?
Logged

SF Bay Area (USA)
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 124
Posts: 6637
Strongly opinionated, but not official!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well, the atmega324 is a 40-pin chip, rather than the 28-pin chip used in Arduino...
((oops.  I (now) see that you knew this already)
Other than that, it looks like a smaller-memory (32k flash) version of the ATmega644 chip used in "Sanguino", which means it should be pretty easy to put the arduino code on.

BTW, I posted the following off in another thread; I guess it should be repeated here:

Quote
(I don't know what people are looking at at digikey; I can't see and "eol" notices for any 328 varieties...)

The ATmega328 is not so much end-of-lifed as replaced by the nearly identical ATmega328P.  I think that the current generation of Arduinos has ALWAYS used the ATmega328P variety; it's just that the differences haven't been particularly relevant to the audience.  Certain particularly paranoid microcontroller customers will have to do another round of "qualification" testing of the chip within the context of their product to make sure that it REALLY hasn't changed in any significant way, but Arduino is not likely among these.

The Atmel site says that ATmega8, ATmega168, and ATmega168P, are ALL "not recommended for new designs."  They're replaced by ATmega8A and ATmega168PA respectively...
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: