Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Questions about making a custom Arduino board  (Read 847 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 49
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So Im trying to go about condensing the arduino schematic for my project. But i've run into a few problems that I can't find a clear answer for. Hopefully someone on here could lend a hand.

1)  First off when going through the USB portion of the schematic I came across the Vin part of the board. Do I need it, cause it seems like its just for a header. And if I were to remove it how far back do I go in the circuit.

2) Also for the reset button in the bottom left corner of the schematic where does it go to, I see the USB and the capacitor / +5V in the top right using it where could I move the reset button too to get rid of the bottom right circuit?

3) The Solder Joint 1 (SJ1) in the USB circuit, what is it used for?

4) I don't want the standard power plug. Perferably just powered from a lithium battery, with the small two prong connector.
Any good links on incorporating that into the design?

eg. http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8483


5) Will I be able to load the boot-loader through the USB the way this schematic is set up? (Without the ICSP jumpers)

Thanks a bunch. Geoff :-)

And finally the Schematic

« Last Edit: August 16, 2010, 10:06:20 pm by MetroExpress » Logged

Manchester (England England)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 618
Posts: 33957
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Will I be able to load the boot-loader through the USB the way this schematic is set up?

No you can only load the boot loader using a programmer connected to MISO, MOSI, SCK, SS and reset.

Quote
The Solder Joint 1 (SJ1) in the USB circuit, what is it used for?
For enabling / disabling the auto reset circuit when you cut the trck to disable it.
Quote
Also for the reset button in the bottom left corner of the schematic where does it go to
To the reset pin (pin 1)?
Quote
I came across the Vin part of the board. Do I need it, cause it seems like its just for a header.
Vin is the input voltage before the regulator . It is connected to the comparator to automatically switch the supply from USB to external power when an external power source is supplied.

A good example of a minimum arduino verses a bought one can be see if you down load the schematics from here:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Hardware/Pendulum.html
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 49
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for the quick reply. Few more questions while im at work :-) I will review everything tonight.


Quote
For enabling / disabling the auto reset circuit when you cut the trck to disable it.

What is the default on the arduino mega board? Enabled?


Quote
To the reset pin (pin 1)?

So if I was to pull the reset pin out of the schematic... Would the button still work? <- More research on my end is needed

Quote
Vin is the input voltage before the regulator. It is connected to the comparator to automatically switch the supply from USB to external power when an external power source is supplied.

Same as the reset pin question, if I remove the pin that goes to the header on the regular arduino will it interfere with its operation. Cause i notice the schematic shows it running towards the vin but I can't see why it just goes to the VIN pin header. (Maybe im just very confused.)

Ill check out that link tonight, thanks for not flameing my n00bishness.
Logged

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 126
Posts: 8493
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
No you can only load the boot loader using a programmer connected to MISO, MOSI, SCK, SS and reset.
SS?

Quote
So if I was to pull the reset pin out of the schematic... Would the button still work?
Not sure what you mean by "pull the reset pin out of the schematic", but if you want the button to work it must be connected to the reset pin (30 on the 1280, 1 on the 328).

Quote
thanks for not flameing my n00bishness
No problem, we'll help if we can, but are you sure you have the experience to do this?

Truth is rather than seeing what you can take out of the Arduino circuit you may be better off looking at what you need to add to a bare chip to make it work (you don't need much actually) as it doesn't sound like you need much for your application.

I'm sure there's a a stack of "stand alone Arduino" threads here that can help.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 09:31:28 am by graynomad » Logged

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Southern Ontario
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 2
Posts: 279
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This is the schematic I use when I need to include an Atmega on a project's board.  It includes a simple 5-volt regulator (that can be ignored) as well.

Logged

Southern Ontario
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 2
Posts: 279
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

One note for the schematic that I just noticed... R9 (10k resistor) is pictured as a capacitor, I am not sure why eagle used that symbol..
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 49
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok so I've solved most of the problems the only real good question I can think of right now is. I have left the ICSP headers off of the schematic cause I feel they take up alot of room. Is there a way, or could someone explain to me how I could load the bootloader onto the atmega1280 without have to use the icsp headers. I've been doing some research on it but im just confused.

Thanks again guys :-)
Logged

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 126
Posts: 8493
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Dodgy way:
Have 6 pads say on the edge of the board (3 on top, 3 on bottom), then hold a header onto the pads for the few seconds it takes to load the program.

Less dodgy:
Same as above but solder the header then remove it. (no point really if it's a one-off boot loader job but ok for multiple application loads)

Best way?:
6 pads on the same side and make a small adapter using pogo pins, then press the pins to the pads for programing. This is how many professional products are programmed.

All the above still take up some room but not quite as much as a permenant header because the pads can be small and right on the edge of the PCB.


« Last Edit: August 21, 2010, 11:07:02 pm by graynomad » Logged

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: