Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9   Go Down
Author Topic: Another New PCB for Arduino Serial Single Sided  (Read 18438 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Brazil
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 443
..., to learn, to know, to make, to share, to l...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

PurgedSoul,

If you can't find it to buy, you can substitute the inductor with a jumper (wire).
And without the inductor, you don't need both 100nF capacitors (C3 and C6). If you want, you can remove one of them (C3 OR C6). And keep the space of the removed capacitor empty.

This will kill the AVcc filter, but it will work, like any other Arduino.

Good luck!
Logged

PCB Designer

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Adilson,

I removed C6 and jumpered pin 20 to +5V. Will try and make the PCB tonight. Will update once it's done. I'm still waiting for the atmega168 that I ordered.



Logged

Brazil
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 443
..., to learn, to know, to make, to share, to l...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Uh, I'm sorry.
There is an inconsistence in .png schamtics and the eagle board.
In the board, the 100nF caps are C6 and C7. But I can see you're an expert.

It's not necessary to change the layout, only if you want to.

Logged

PCB Designer

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm humbled by your statement, but I'm no expert, just a curious student that continues to learn things :-). Your layout is already excellent I don't want to change a thing.

Ok now I'm confused   :smiley what I edited was the schematic I downloaded at http://www.arduino.cc/en/uploads/Main/Arduino_S3v3_R2_EAGLE_again.zip. I wasn't able to take a look at the .png schematics, I go straight to the eagle files (I'm such an eager beaver).

ummm so my revision above is fine?  smiley-grin
Logged

Brazil
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 443
..., to learn, to know, to make, to share, to l...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The modification you did seems to be ok. I think it will work.

Good luck.
Logged

PCB Designer

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you Adilson here's the board that I've made:



not yet finished though, I still haven't received my atmega168 and crystals  smiley-sad

please comment, correct, if what I've done is okay, not good (newbie here)  smiley While waiting for the 168 and crystal, I decided to do some tests.

1. I plugged in a 9 volt battery, and measure the voltages in 5V and 9V, pins 7,8, 20, 22 of the 28 pin IC socket, and pins 2, 5, 6 of the ICSP header. All are okay and registered ~+5V.

2. Next I decided to test the RS232 TTL circuit, by setting the serial enable jumper. Measured pins 2 and 3 (on the IC socket) and the voltage is +5V, then I jumpered them, this is where I kinda (scratch head) ask the forum for comment. Well, the RX and TX LED should both light up right? but on mine it did not right away, it takes a couple of seconds. Sometimes not at all.

3. I also plugged to my computer open hyperterminal. With pin 2 and 3 jumpered when I press a key on the keyboard the RX/TX LED lights up as it should. Un jumpered it, and only the RX led lights when I press a key on the keyboard.

Is there something wrong with my board? Especially with the #2. I've checked all connections and all are okay.

Thanks very much! Can't wait to start uploading sketches to my Severino.  smiley-grin
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Adilson the board works! Thank you!

Though I have some trouble loading the bootloader using 0011. But what got the bootloader to work was I disconnected LED13 first.









And... I'm interested in building your Max232 variation of the Severino :-) can't wait for it..  ;D
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 11:23:57 pm by purgedsoul » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi guys! this is my first attempt





I don't even know if it works yet, because my atmega168 is without a bootloader. I'll let know if you're interested  ;D

By the way, where can I find instruction how to use it? (total newbie here)
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 24
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
I am a total noob.
I want to make one of this board cause I cant get any Arduino here in my place but I can getAtmega168.

Question:
Do I need to upload the bootloader to the Atmega168?
If so how could I do that with this board cause looking at the software side the bootloader only can be upload using parallel port.

Thanks and regards.

Logged


          http://arduinostudio.wordpress.com/

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

YEAH! I've burnt the bootloader succesfully to my home made arduino (2 thread above)

video:
http://rs142l3.rapidshare.com/cgi-bin/upload.cgi?rsuploadid=146099131789894306
mirror:
http://ifile.it/vh4r12n

 ;D ;D ;D

ps: I had to downsize the video since it was 1gb, so the quality sucks, sorry (just adjust the luminosity)
« Last Edit: August 02, 2009, 08:40:02 am by poldoj » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 24
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can you please detail the procedure to upload the bootloader.

Is it trough parallel or serial?
« Last Edit: August 06, 2009, 01:14:02 am by vios » Logged


          http://arduinostudio.wordpress.com/

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

First I tried with the parallel but it didn't work. I don't know why though. After a couple of failed attemps I gave up and bought an avrisp mkii.
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Learning/Burn168
The instruction posted in the link above worked like a charm.

for AKASHI: I'm really looking forward for a single side board supporting the atmega328

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@vios: You can burn the bootloader via the parallel port using the parallel programmer details about this can be found here:

http://www.arduino.cc/en/Hacking/ParallelProgrammer

With the single sided board, what I did to successfully burn the bootloader using the parallel programmer was to desolder LED13 first.

@poldoj: Nice job! congratulations.

I have tried upgrading the Severino with the atmega328, and it works! just make sure you select the correct chip on the arduino software.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@ purgedsoul
Thank you very much! So the Severino can handle the atmega328 as well, cool. Just another question, Will my avrisp mkii be able to burn the bootloader to the atmega328? On the list of the supported devices I saw atmega32 and atmega329 among several others but I didn't see any atmega328. Is there a tutorial teaching you which fuses, bitlocks, .hex file etc. should be used for the 328 chip like that I used for the 168?

thank you!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2009, 03:49:25 am by poldoj » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

First thank you for the single sided design, it's totally cool smiley

I just finished building my second Severino, boot loader is up and running, but the serial uploading with avrdude won't work properly, it returns the following error:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x30
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

While trying to upload the rx and tx leds blink, but they seem faint to me, comparing with the first Severino.

I have checked and rechecked the board, replaced the capacitor, the transistors, the bootloader, the fuses, hit Google, still no go, it just errors out.

I'm not an electronics expert so I was wondering if the problem could be caused by the fact that I used B557C and B547C transistors instead of the the plain ones.

Any ideas?

Thank you.
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9   Go Up
Jump to: