Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 12v rgb led strip  (Read 1369 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
hyderabad
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 44
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have found a rgb strip given in this link
http://www.sirs-e.com/st/strip-meters-p-2920.html?cPath=67

It is 12V, 24W, 2A strip.
but again at the last he has given that 20ma per color. Both are not matching. With 20mA/color it needs 9A.

How it is possible.

pls give me sollution...
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 603
Posts: 33408
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The 20mA per colour is the specification of the individual LED.

With a 12V supply it is likely that there are some LEDs in series and so the currents are not cumulative. That is if you have 3 LEDs in series with 20mA flowing through each the total current is 20mA not 20 * 3 = 60mA.
It is only when the LEDs are in parallel that the currents add.

So it is safe to assume that this product takes 2A per strip.
Logged

hyderabad
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 44
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

k but in the strip 3 red leds are in series, 3 green leds are in series, 3 blue leds are in series and each series combination connected in parallel. so that we will have 150 series combinations(each color) in parallel.

2A current must be devided in to each parallel branch then what may be the current in each branch ?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 11:50:07 pm by srinivas » Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 603
Posts: 33408
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If you have 150 identical circuits in parallel taking 2A in total then you have an individual current in each circuit of 2 / 150 = 13.3mA.
Logged

hyderabad
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 44
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

can you give me the internal led connections of rgb strip ?
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 603
Posts: 33408
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sorry I don't have that. It's simple enough to trace it if you have one to hand.
Logged

hyderabad
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 44
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

what may be the max current required for a rgb strip ?

i have 12v rgb strip but i dont have its manual, how can i know the current required for that strip ?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 236
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The Strip is divideable.
Every "3LED"-part takes 3x20mA per color.
A whole meter/inch/kilometer/lightyear takes the 2A.

EDIT: 5m take 2A smiley It's written on your link.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 03:04:18 am by willich » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 236
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

On my commonanodestrip it's all 3 LED in series (per Strip)
every kathode (each color) has a corresponding resistor. (150/330/330).
If you dont divide the strips, every 3-led-strip is parallel.
So assume 60mA per element

« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 03:01:23 am by willich » Logged

hyderabad
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 44
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

if 3 led strip element takes 3*20=60mA. for 5m, 30LEDs/m strip will take
60*50=3A only. Is it right ?
Logged

Bahrain
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
Arduinos rock
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have a similar strip. The red leds have a fwd voltage of 2, and use the 330 ohm resistors per 3 leds. Blue and green are 3V and each use a 150 ohms resistor. Use http://led.linear1.org/led.wiz to tinker with this. Now, about the amperage I made same calc as you did to arrive at 60mA*50 = 3A. Either the supply is beyond max or it isn't lighting the LEDs properly. In any case, it's a shame they didn't make the strings twice as long, in which case they could have left out the resistor on the red leds. Now, how do drive these with my arduino ?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

*bump*

Had any luck on driving these with the arduino, yet?
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: