Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Simple 10 - 12 LED Display  (Read 3507 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Surrey BC
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 52
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have recently purchased a class set of the Arduino Boards for my High School Engineering class. The programing is very simple for the students to understand. My end game is to use the chips for simple robotics. But before that i want to make a simple 10 LED display that the students can take home for cheap.

The Idea is that students program the chip then remove it and plug it in to their light display. Has any one done this before?

If not, I need to know a few basics.

Which pins hook up to the timing crystal?

What is the spec on the crystal?

Can the Arduino run on 9V? (Simple battery clips make 9V perfect)

Any way, i probably have more questions, But any input at this point would be great.  8-)
Logged

High School Engineering Teacher

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Which pins hook up to the timing crystal?

What is the spec on the crystal?
Not sure if this is exactly what you need, but take a look at this http://www.uchobby.com/index.php/2007/07/01/ardunio-breadboard/ for a minimum setup.

Or you could buy one of these http://www.moderndevice.com/products/rbbb-kit and then duplicate the setup.

Quote
Can the Arduino run on 9V? (Simple battery clips make 9V perfect)
Yes. Look around here, I think there is a very recent thread talking about 9V hookup.
Logged

Middle of the Pacific
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 129
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What you basically want to do is create a dedicated arduino just for driving LEDS?

I think a more efficient path would be to purchase/build/design an LED shield.  That way you can still use the chip with oscillator and voltage regulator for other projects.

If you still want the dedicated circuit then there are a ton of examples online for building your own.  look up HACKDUINO
http://www.instructables.com/id/Perfboard-Hackduino-Arduino-compatible-circuit/

you will need a voltage regulator as the atmega 168/328 chip  needs between 1.8 and 5.5 volts....7805 http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheets/228/390068_DS.pdf

The usual timing crystal used is http://www.vishay.com/docs/35014/xt49s.pdf
between pins 9 and 10.

there are a few other things necessary to just plug in the chip, but they are all well documented in the many arduino schematics floating around.

I would recommend just building the shield or using bread boards.  In addition breadboard wiring is always a learning experience, especially when trouble shooting your rats nest  ;D
 

« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 11:43:43 pm by donkahones » Logged

Surrey BC
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 52
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you, that gets me closer.

I have also been looking at the pin configuration of the ATMEGA 328 chip, I am a little confused on which pins on he chip correspond to pins in the Arduino Software.

A basic schematic for how to hook up the Atmega chip in to a simple circuit would be ideal.  
Logged

High School Engineering Teacher

Middle of the Pacific
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 129
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

assuming you have the duemilanove cross reference this:

http://arduino.cc/en/uploads/Main/arduino-duemilanove-schematic.pdf

with this:

http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/doc8161.pdf

Quote
A basic schematic for how to hook up the Atmega chip in to a simple circuit would be ideal.

see above, Hackduino or the duemilanove schematic
Logged

Surrey BC
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 52
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you Again. That instructable is perfect. I will draw up a schematic tomorrow.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 11:51:59 pm by nobikes » Logged

High School Engineering Teacher

Boston, MA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1024
wiblocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The specification for the crystal depends on the input voltage.
For a 5V system most people use a 16MHz. For my 12V boards I use
12MHz. The ATmel specification recommends loading capacitance
of 22pF or less.

The 9V battery can power a 5V system but it is not very efficient.
Most systems use a linear regulator which wastes 4/9 of the capacity.

I make a low-cost ($12) Arduino compatible board (PICO1TR) and a matching
LED matrix. You can check out the schematics which are in the datasheets.
I "charlie-plex" the LEDs which minimizes the number of lines required.
For 10 LEDs you would only need 4 lines.
See the datasheets at http://wiblocks.luciani.org/PICO/PICO1TR-index.html
and http://wiblocks.luciani.org/PICO/PICO1TR-LED-L-index.html

(* jcl *)
Logged


Surrey BC
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 52
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Okay, i think i know what i am doing. a few more questions though.
 Is the pin configuration on The Atmega 168 the same as the 328?
The price of the 168 is cheaper then the 328, will the 168 work if i plug it in to my Duemilanove board? Do
I need a voltage regulator if i run 4.5volts from a pack of 3 AA batteries?
I have attached a Schematic of what i think will work. does any one see a problem with it?

Thank you for all the help

 http://sites.google.com/a/theprojectinventory.com/envertech/_/rsrc/1284329142030/enver-creek-engineering/engineering-level-2/arduino/arduino-4/light%20display.jpg
« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 05:18:02 pm by nobikes » Logged

High School Engineering Teacher

SE USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 41
Posts: 3783
@ssh0le
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Is the pin configuration on The Atmega 168 the same as the 328?

yes

Quote
The price of the 168 is cheaper then the 328

usually the same. the 168 might be nominally cheaper

Quote
will the 168 work if i plug it in to my Duemilanove board

yes

Quote
Do I need a voltage regulator if i run 4.5volts from a pack of 3 AA batteries?

no (though that does not leave a lot of wiggle room with discharging batteries and the voltage vs speed ratio)

Quote
I have attached a Schematic of what i think will work. does any one see a problem with it?

not off hand
« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 05:32:25 pm by Osgeld » Logged


0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1103
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
does any one see a problem with it?
You should have a ground connection to pin 8..
Logged

Surrey BC
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 52
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Okay, I have added the ground off of pin 8. does this look appropriate?

« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 05:43:39 pm by nobikes » Logged

High School Engineering Teacher

Manchester (England England)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 626
Posts: 34123
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
will the 168 work if i plug it in to my Duemilanove board

Yes but change the board type in the tools menu.
Remember you have to have a boot loader in the chip before you plug it in the board. Chips can either be bought with a boot loader ready loaded otherwise you are going to have to burn one in yourself with a programmer.
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 626
Posts: 34123
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Just been looking at your circuit again.

assuming 1.7V drop across each LED the across the resistor you have 5 - 1.7 = 3.3 volts
across a 220R resistor gives you 15mA per LED.
With 14 LEDs you have a total source current of:-
14 * 15mA = 210mA

Now the absolute limit for the current taken along the arduino supply pins is 200mA. Given it takes about 20mA to power the chip you are 30mA over the current where damage would be done.
So best bet is just to up the resistors a tad say to 270R.
Logged

Surrey BC
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 52
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Easy enough fix.

 Thank you
Logged

High School Engineering Teacher

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1103
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Or just have some green LEDs among them ...
« Last Edit: September 14, 2010, 08:47:52 am by mpeuser » Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: