Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: [ASTROPHOTO] Autoguiding using an old webcam and an arduino  (Read 732 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everyone,

Just a quick post here to share a little project I finished this week:

Autoguiding using a webcam an an arduino

So if you know a bit about astrophotography you know about the need to have accurate star tracking. This is often achieved with a seperate camera tracking a "guide-star". As I'm a student and thus have little money, I took a shortcut and built a DIY autoguiding system. I finally got around writing the ASCOM driver for it, so I thought I should share this. As I'm too lazy to maintain a personal website, I'm posting all the info here, who knows, might be helpful to someone  smiley

The results are suprisingly good. I was able to achieve 5 minute exposures at 300mm (450mm equivalent for full size sensors) without any trails. I think I'll even go towards 10 minutes next time.  smiley-cool

The setup:
  • Arduino nano
  • Polulu stepper driver
  • Wantai stepper motor 0.9° 1.7A
  • Old Eyetoy webcam (playstation 2 game) fitted in a 3D printed case accepting Canon EF lenses
  • Cheap orion eq-1 mount with DIY plate for mounting a DSLR with zoom lens
  • Laptop with PHD guiding 2.2.2

Some pics (click for full size) :

Attached are the .ino code running on the arduino, and the .exe is the installation file for the ASCOM drivers. The C# source code is included, you'll need a tool like MS Visual Studio (express is free) to compile the code.

EDIT: Added the *raw* source code for the ASCOM driver and the STL file for the 3d printed part.

Cheers !
Luca

* arduinoAscomMount.ino (3.07 KB - downloaded 20 times.)
* ArduinoMountASCOMdriver.exe (474.19 KB - downloaded 11 times.)
* Driver.cs (34.38 KB - downloaded 22 times.)
* guide-cam.STL (873.03 KB - downloaded 13 times.)
« Last Edit: June 08, 2014, 03:18:38 pm by wattevah » Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Shannon Member