Go Down

Topic: Recommendations for Visualizer (Read 364 times) previous topic - next topic

jarrod0987

Aug 07, 2014, 09:36 pm Last Edit: Aug 08, 2014, 05:30 am by jarrod0987 Reason: 1
I am interested in building a nice freq/amplitude visualizer with Arduino. Originally, I had hope to do the band pass filtering all in software. Doesn't look like anyone has done that yet and not sure if it is possible. In order to try to avoid using a load of discreet components I started looking for an IC. I looked at the white papers for a BA3834 . A webpage claimed it is able to do 7 band pass filters in and serial out which sounds usable but I only see a b and c and assume those are inputs? I am new to the hobby and really not good at reading some of these chip layouts yet. Can anyone tell me if this is a good chip for this purpose and if not perhaps make a recommendation? I just want to get something up and running first and make it fancy after I figure out the code. I would not mind if the lower frequency lights lit up when a higher freq came through as long as all the lights below the "correct" one came on. I think that effect would be OK. This would only require high pass filters yes? Would it be easier to find an IC like that? Any help will be appreciated.

Thank You

DVDdoug

Aug 07, 2014, 11:45 pm Last Edit: Aug 07, 2014, 11:46 pm by DVDdoug Reason: 1
I had hope to do the band pass filtering all in software. Doesn't look like anyone has done that yet and not sure if it is possible.
When you want multiple frequency bands, that's normally done with FFT.   There is an FFT library for the Arduino so you don't have to write the code from scratch.    I'm sure there are some limitations since the Arduino isn't a particularly fast processor, but I don't know what those limitations are....    You can find Arduino spectrum analyzers that use FFT..