Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Can't upload to Arduino Duemilanove  (Read 375 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I got a Arduino Duemilanove recently.
I have not been able to upload any programs to it.
I am using Arduino-0012 (It was the version used in the Nuts & Volts magazine workshop series), on Windows XP.

I am pretty sure I got the FTDI driver installed correctly (and the right COM port), since the RX LED blinks a couple of times when I start a download.  TX never blinks.

I set upload.verbose=true, and get these messages:
 
Binary sketch size: 1124 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)
C:\arduino-0012\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CC:\arduino-0012\hardware/tools/
avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -pm168 -cstk500v1 -P\\.\COM4 -b19200 -D -Uflash
:w:C:\Documents and Settings\Rusty\My Documents\Arduino\sketch_100102a\applet\sk
etch_100102a.hex:i


avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 11 2007 at 19:12:32
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean,

         System wide configuration file is "C:\arduino-0012\hardware/tools/avr/e
tc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port            : \\.\COM4
         Using Programmer      : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate  : 19200
avrdude: ser_open(): setting dtr
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

avrdude done.  Thank you.  
 [size=11]

When I plug in the board (USB) or reset it, the pin13 LED blinks short-short-long every 1 second or so.  

Any suggestions of what to do?
Thanks in advance,  [/size]
Logged

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 361
Posts: 17294
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

First you plug in the Arduino board to the PC, then you opened up the Arduino IDE software, were you sure you set the correct comm port number and board type?

Lefty

Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I don't Arduino 0012 supports the Duemilanove w/ ATmega328.  Try 0017.
Logged

ottawa, canada
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 6
Posts: 990
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

also, make sure the drivers afor the usb chip are up to date.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

0017 fixed it,  THANKS!

I had been trying to follow the magazine article tutorial as close as possible, and had not noticed I had a different board that what they showed.

Thanks again for the fast solution.
Peter
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: