Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Total noob to electronics...  (Read 276 times)
Wigan, UK
God Member
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

How do I tell the resistance of a potentiometer? As in, the resistance of it while it's at a set position.

I have a multimeter but I don't know how to use it other than for reading voltage.

I'm using a pot for the contrast on an LCD screen (4x20, not a monitor), I wouldn't mind replacing it with a resistor.

SE USA
Faraday Member
@ssh0le
View Profile

you can kind of guess

the lug where power is going into might as well be zero, the other end is full resistance

so if you have a 100k pot turned up half way you can guess about 50k ohms

and you set your meter to ohms and measure tween 2 points
« Last Edit: May 16, 2010, 02:32:35 am by Osgeld » Logged

Phoenix, Arizona USA
Faraday Member
Where's the beer?
View Profile

A potentiometer can be essentially thought of as two resistors connected in series, in which you can vary the resistance of each; so if you have a 100k ohms potentiometer, and you rotate it 1/4 of the way, when you measured each resistance, you would find one side is ~ 25k ohms, and the other ~75k ohms (I use ~ to mean "approximately"; due to losses and other reasons, you may or may not be able to add both amounts together to equal the whole amount; this is called "tolerance", and all electronic components, including potentiometers, have a measurable tolerance amount - the smaller that amount, the more accurate a component will be - note, though, that it can -never- be perfect; ie, zero percentage of tolerance).