Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: LCD (16x2) GDM1602a  (Read 2984 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Maastricht, Netherlands
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey guys

I've just got a lcd a GDM1602a but i just cant get it to work.... any tips?

I downloaded the 4bit lib but no luck so far... I cant even get the backlight to work...
Logged

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 26
Posts: 4117
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Junke1990:

Quote
... any tips?
1. Get the backlight working first.  This doesn't require the Arduino so  (assuming the backlight isn't defective) if you can't get it to work you may have a power supply problem.

2. Connect the power and contrast pins (1, 2, and 3) and make sure you can see the black boxes on the first row of the display.

3. Use Arduino v0017 and its updated LiquidCrystal library.

Don
Logged

Maastricht, Netherlands
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

1. there's the first problem

I connected the +5v of the arduino to pin 15 op the lcd and the gnd to pin 16 and 1 of the lcd but i doesnt light up....
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 375
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Where did you get the display?  It may not have a backlight or it could be EL.
Logged

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 26
Posts: 4117
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Junke1990:

Quote
I connected the +5v of the arduino to pin 15 op the lcd and the gnd to pin 16 and 1 of the lcd but i doesnt light up....
What about the 56 ohm series resistor?

Don
Logged

Maastricht, Netherlands
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I bought it in a local electronics shop, it clearly says + backlight

http://grootaers.nl/index.htm?http://grootaers.nl/toonafbeelding.php?ProductNr=10600030&hoofd

@floresta
56 ohm series resistor?
Logged

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 26
Posts: 4117
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Junke1990:

Quote
56 ohm series resistor?
The one mentioned in the data sheet.   It's possible that it is already on the PC board, but you should check.  If you apply 5 volts to an LED whose maximum forward voltage rating is 4.4v (also in the data sheet) it will be very bright for a very short time and then it will be very dark from then on ....

Don
Logged

Maastricht, Netherlands
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I upgraded to v 17 and a (hopefully) a little further. I took  couple examples like http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/LiquidCrystal and connected them.

( made a little table for in the code )
Code:
// ATMEGA       // LCD
// GND            // 1
// +5v            // 2
// RS = 12       // 4            
// RW = GND      // 5
// ENABLE = 11 // 6
// d4 = 2          // 11
// d5 = 3          // 12
// d6 = 4          // 13
// d7 = 5          // 14

the strange thing is I cant get anything on the screen, the only time i get something on the screen is when I start turning the potmeter for pin 3 the contrast

I have tried to reverse the d4 ~ d7, but that still didn't work.
Code:
// d4 = 5          // 11
// d5 = 4          // 12
// d6 = 3          // 13
// d7 = 2          // 14
Logged

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 26
Posts: 4117
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Junke1990

Quote
the strange thing is I cant get anything on the screen, the only time i get something on the screen is when I start turning the potmeter for pin 3 the contrast

That is what step #2 in reply #1 is all about.  Have you done that successfully?  If you get the boxes then the power supply is working and the contrast is close enough to the correct setting for you to continue.  If you don't see the boxes than no amount of tinkering with the other wiring, the IDE, the libraries, or the program code (sketch) will help.

Don
Logged

Maastricht, Netherlands
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

the backlight wont go on so i went on and tried to see if i could get something on the screen anyway.

Second thing is after googling some more I found a second datasheet.  on this one it says Built-in controller (S6A0069 or equivalent) in stead of KS0066U or Equivalent. Both sheets being from XIAMEN, on my LCD there is ver2.0 printed, now comes the greatest part this isn't mentioned in the datasheets
Logged

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 26
Posts: 4117
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Junke1990:

What part of this do you not understand???

Quote
If you don't see the boxes than no amount of tinkering with the other wiring, the IDE, the libraries, or the program code (sketch) will help.


Don
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 37
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everyone.
I have exactly the same problem with exactly the same LCD, but I can see the black boxes.
So everything's fine but I cant print anything on my LCD smiley-sad
Logged

Maastricht, Netherlands
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

maybe this will help:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/junke1990/3922742342/

if you need anything let me know, you'll find me through my nick on a lot of social networks.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 37
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

thx for answering!
I had trouble, but everything works fine now. I had no 10k potmeter, but using two 10k resistors just works fine.
Thanks again.
Logged

Maastricht, Netherlands
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I wrote a little script for linux which may be fun to try: http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1253025207

btw, does anyone know if it is possible to use the OBDuino system, I reported the sys a few months ago but no luck so far.

http://code.google.com/p/opengauge/issues/detail?id=9
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: