Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Need help, FAST (please)  (Read 2037 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I got to Vienna a couple hours ago, unpacked the sculpture, plugged in to modify the program, and of course it isn't working.  I'm using the same laptop, the same arduino, nothing was added, nothing was taken away.  My code verifies ok, and the arduino runs the sketch I last loaded into it just fine.

The message I am getting is

avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
              0x39 != 0x00

avrdude: verification error; content mismatch

I'm not finding anything of much use checking AVR Dude forums.

Any help?  The opening is in a couple hours!!!  Many thanks in advance
Logged

Forum Administrator
Offline Offline
Newbie
*****
Karma: 3
Posts: 3
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Very strange message


it's clearly an upload error... do you have something else plugged into the laptop that might be interfering...?

what arduino are u using? NG, diecimila? what  version of the software?

I dont suppose you brought anpther arduino


you need to give us more details

massimo
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Nothing else is plugged in.  I'm using version 10 of the software.  I'm using an older board with the ATMEGA8 and USB.  Same FTDI drivers as before.  Happens whether powered by external power or USB.  This is one of those things where it worked fine last night (and had been for weeks), but not now.  I do the upload process, it finds the board, and the USB LEDs blink, as usual, so I know it is finding the board and communicating with it.  And my code compiles fine.

As far as another arduino goes, I brought a bare bones board along, but I had never tested it until now (in fact I just soldered it up here in the gallery) and I get different errors when I try to upload a program to it - I get a sync error with that board:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51
« Last Edit: November 22, 2007, 09:31:29 am by CTP » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Okay - I worked out the trouble with the bare bones board and am starting my programming - <3 hours until the show opens...no sweat :-)

I still wonder what is going on with the other board, but the panic is at least abated for now.
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You should try setting upload.verbose to true and seeing the full output of the upload attempt.  

Did you try uploading a simple sketch to the board?  Just to make sure it's not an issue with running out of RAM or memory.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

<<<You should try setting upload.verbose to true and seeing the full output of the upload attempt. >>>

I will try that.  I got home last night around 3AM and came into the office this morning - my body doesn't really know what time it is yet.  As soon as I unpack I will set up the sculpture and try it.

I thought of uploading a tiny sketch to it, but then realized that it was currently running a sketch that if all else failed would at least animate the piece somewhat - and if I changed that and couldn't go back, and couldn't get the new board to work, that I would be 100% screwed.
 
<<<Did you try uploading a simple sketch to the board?>>>
Yea, the entire sketch for the piece is pretty simple as it is - around 2K is all in its current form.

I soldered together the other board in the gallery, hooked it up, and it worked all though the show so everything worked out in the end.  I'll start hacking on the other board tonight or tomorrow.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2007, 03:41:03 pm by CTP » Logged

Canada
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 12
Arduino &amp; Freeduino rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The same exact issue just happened to me.  I tried to upload the the first LED flash code from the tutorials, and I got a similar error (with a different address):

Code:
avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0042
         0x9d != 0xd0
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch

I'm using a Freeduino with the ATMEGA168 chip and there are no wires plugged into any pins.  It is being powered by the USB port.

I set upload.verbose = true, and I received more data that I could not understand; I could not fit all of it due to the character limit set on this post:

Code:
Reading | avrdude: Send: U [55] . [00] . [00]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
#####avrdude: Send: U [55] @ [40] . [00]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
######avrdude: Send: U [55] . [80] . [00]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
######avrdude: Send: U [55] . [c0] . [00]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
######avrdude: Send: U [55] . [00] . [01]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
#####avrdude: Send: U [55] @ [40] . [01]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
######avrdude: Send: U [55] . [80] . [01]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
######avrdude: Send: U [55] . [c0] . [01]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] . [80] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
######avrdude: Send: U [55] . [00] . [02]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Send: t [74] . [00] X [58] F [46]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:
#### | 100% 0.85s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0042
         0x9d != 0xd0
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: Recv:

avrdude done.  Thank you.

I stored the full text online at http://www.box.net/shared/774c65cjnc
« Last Edit: December 01, 2007, 04:09:46 pm by Anthony » Logged

Buy a breadboard; it's worth it!

Canada
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 12
Arduino &amp; Freeduino rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I ordered a Arduino Diecimila board as a replacement; it worked with the Arduino IDE, which shows that it's a problem with my Freeduino.  I realized that I could also replace the ATMEGA168 chip for $5, and see if I can still use my Freeduino.

I should get it in the mail somewhere around next week, so I let you all know if it works; I'm sure it will, since the chip is basically the heart of the board, and I doubt that it's a problem with the Freeduino board itself that would just instantly pop-up.

The last thing I remember doing with my board is uploading code to operate an LED with a potentiometer, and I made a 9V battery adapter that works with the Arduino also.  I also kept unplugging and replugging the battery in, but I don't think that would cause a "Verification Error" over time.

Thank goodness that the ATMEGA168 chips are cheap. smiley-grin
Logged

Buy a breadboard; it's worth it!

USA
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 452
Freeduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Anthony, what Freeduino board do you have?  Is it the KIT based board or the assembled prerelease board?
Logged

Canada
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 12
Arduino &amp; Freeduino rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Anthony, what Freeduino board do you have?  Is it the KIT based board or the assembled prerelease board?

Hello.  It's an assembled Freeduino pre-release board; when I received it, it was the board alone with its own ATMEGA168, and it came with nothing else.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2007, 08:33:03 am by Anthony » Logged

Buy a breadboard; it's worth it!

gedrop
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 53
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have the same trouble as the first person posting in this thread..

The arduino i use is caled "Arduino Diecimila compatible USB board complete KIT with pre-soldered FT232BL"
i got it from Ebay. The bootloader is probably 9.. and i was using editor version 10

It was working just fine until i uploaded this script <http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/StepperUnipolar>
The stepper motor was connected while i was uploading.. but i think i connected it wrong.. because it did not start rotating..
After this i tryd a different connection. but still no luck..

Then i disconnected everything and tryd uploading the BLINK script.

I set "upload.verbose = true" and noticed the verification message was giving back only zeros

Then i was thinking the Atmega168 is probably burned out or something, but after some more fiddling around with the arduino.. i noticed the stepper motor script was still on the arduino. and working.. I just cant upload a new script to the arduino..

So what could be the problem??
Could the upload part of my arduino be broken (the USB to serial converter)?
Or could it be something else..
Logged

Canada
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 12
Arduino &amp; Freeduino rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The ATMEGA168 chip I ordered arrived in the mail today.  I replaced it with the one in the Freeduino, and it works just fine.

This proves that it's a problem with the microcontroller chip itself and not the board.  However, I don't know how to actually fix the problem.

If you're willing to spend $5, you can order a new one to replace the one in your board.  As of the verification error, I don't know what to do about that, so I'll just hold onto it until there's a way for me to deal with it.
Logged

Buy a breadboard; it's worth it!

gedrop
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 53
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i ordered a new ATMEGA168 now also.. hopefully it works when i replace it.. that would be great!

maybe it helps to re-upload the bootloader..
would the Parallel Port Programmer also work for the arduino diecimila?
http://www.arduino.cc/en/Hacking/ParallelProgrammer

Greets Gijs
Logged

Norway
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 370
R-Doo-Inoo in the making :3
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I also ordered the "Arduino Diecimila compatible USB board complete KIT with pre-soldered FT232BL" from NKC on  eBay..
I hope I don't have this problem while I'm messing with it :o

do you think i should order some spare ATMEGA168 chips just in case?  :-/ seeing as I am a total noob at Arduino, microcontrollers, and programming  smiley-grin

not that i don't understand what its about smiley
« Last Edit: December 11, 2007, 04:13:06 am by The_Bongmaster » Logged

B-dui in creation.

USA
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 452
Freeduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Quote
Anthony, what Freeduino board do you have?  Is it the KIT based board or the assembled prerelease board?

Hello.  It's an assembled Freeduino pre-release board; when I received it, it was the board alone with its own ATMEGA168, and it came with nothing else.
Were you able to solve the problem by replacing the atmega168?  If not, then contact me to my email freeduino at nkcelectronics dot com.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: