Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: can't connect to UNO  (Read 1586 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi there,
i am new to arduino and just received my UNO ... i connected it under mac osx 10.5.8 and wanted to upload the first Blink-sketch.
Everytime i try, after compiling it tells me:

avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

any idea how to fix?
the default blinking of L-Led is also kinda unsteady (4xlong, 1xshort) ...

thank you for advice,
cheers! mploj
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

sounds like the exact issue Im having as well as many others and so far I have not seen a solution. Im going to try my uno on a windows 7 machine to see if it works there and I will inform you on the results. can you print your verbose output? (press and hold shift as you upload)
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 32
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
the default blinking of L-Led is also kinda unsteady (4xlong, 1xshort) ...

This is normal for a new Uno (with a preloaded sketch).

Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
the default blinking of L-Led is also kinda unsteady (4xlong, 1xshort) ...
Haha I was waiting for someone to take a look at this and think it was broken  smiley-wink

Yeah it's totally normal.

Have you tried a different computer?

Mowcius
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 602
Posts: 33362
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
the default blinking of L-Led is also kinda unsteady (4xlong, 1xshort)

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1286179398/3

mploj - have you selected the correct board and serial port from the tools menu?
« Last Edit: October 20, 2010, 06:08:22 am by Grumpy_Mike » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

think i did everything right ... setup uno as usb modem in network preferences, chose the right board and serial port in the tools dilogue ...

i will try it with a windows pc tomorrow even though want to use it with my mac ... see what happens then. i don't think that the board is damaged since i read similar posts in the forums.

thank you so far, cheers
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
this is what i get when printing the verbose output:

-C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -cstk500v1 -P/dev/tty.usbmodem411 -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:/tmp/build41791.tmp/AnalogReadSerial.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct  9 2007 at 11:20:31
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

         System wide configuration file is "/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/Users/michaelploj/.avrduderc"
         User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

         Using Port            : /dev/tty.usbmodem411
         Using Programmer      : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate  : 115200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

still not working ...
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 602
Posts: 33362
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
setup uno as usb modem in network preferences

I have the UNO set up as "not configured" and I have no problem with it.
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Are you going through a USB hub?  Apparently that was causing problems for some people.  Do the LEDs on the Uno do anything when you press upload?  Have you used other Arduino boards with the computer?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,
no USB hub - and as i said, it is my very first Arduino ... the LED are not blinking when i try to upload sketches.

thnx,
mploj
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Had the chance to connect it to a windows pc ... works fine, so it seems to be a bug software/system side, will wait for the next arduino update and see what happens ...

thank you so far
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 602
Posts: 33362
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Try downloading one of the earlier versions of the Arduino they are all still available on the site.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: