Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: sketch won't start after power on  (Read 1498 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all, I'm very new at this and I've got a problem. I've searched the forum and couldn't find the answer.
I upload some simple code and everything works fine, but when I power off and on again (USB) it won't start running the code. The power light works fine but a very simple code won't start.
This is probably a newbie question but I could use some help.

Thanks is advance

Global Moderator
Dallas
Shannon Member
View Profile

I think the bootloader waits three seconds before starting the Sketch.  Wait a few seconds after applying power.  Does your Sketch start?

Austin, TX
Faraday Member
Baldengineer
View Profile

What is your very simple code?

Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

Arduino rocks
View Profile

I've waited several minutes and nothing. The code is the DigitalReadSerial with a tiny modification. The third example in andruino tutorial. A program to send to the serial port the status of a digital input.

I know that the program is not working because the TX led don't light up when I click the push button, like when I upload the sketch.

Austin, TX
Faraday Member
Baldengineer
View Profile

Open (or re-open) the serial monitor after you apply power.

Yoiu might also include a heartbeat like flashing pin13 to prove if the sketch is running or not.

Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Here is my code.
Code:
void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(2, INPUT);
}
void loop() {  
int in2 = digitalRead(2);
  if (in2 != 0){
    Serial.println(2, DEC);
    delay(1000);
  }
}