Poll
Question: Troubleshooting of Arduino diecimila
connection - 18 (36%)
Troubleshooting - 32 (64%)
Total Voters: 21

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11   Go Down
Author Topic: avrdude error  (Read 43370 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 19
ShiY Yea
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OH MY I AM SO JOYOUS I just fixed the problem in Windows 7.

here is what I did:

with arduino plugged in
click on the start menu
click devices and printers
scroll down to unspecified devices
right click FT232R USB UART
go to properties
click hardware tab
go to properties
click change settings
go to driver tab
click uninstall
unplug and replug arduino
when the driver installation note pops up click on it
you need to make sure your driver install settings are set so windows automatically searches for drivers (I forgot exactly how I did that)

and then I let it search for the drivers and it set up the com ports and every thing is working now.

smiley after a whole day of trying to find a solution, I found it.  smiley
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 19
ShiY Yea
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

 :'( so I was able to upload one code after "fixing" the problem but now it is having the same error. UGHHHHHHHH  and I tried to do the same thing as before to fix it and it didn't work.

 :-/NOTE: I did the "fix" again and it works again. also when I tried earlier I still had all the components hooked up to the board that I had for the code that was running, and my most recent try was without anything hooked up(except USB)  :-/
« Last Edit: June 23, 2010, 02:17:03 am by necrokid » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
making this look easy
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i'm getting this same error with sparkfun FT232RL (FTDI basic) and a mini arduino pro, purchased this week. none of the above suggestions has helped. and frankly they all seem like voodoo. i might as well rub my hair and spit to the north.

i'm running software 0018, on an old thinkpad R30 under windows XP (sp2, i think). not sure why, but I also cant find device manager, to try setting com port speed.

however, i do see the tx light on the FTDI basic board blink three times during the upload process, before the error message

 why do these sync problems happen, anyway?

perhaps related, I've not connected the CTS and DTR lines on FTDI basic board, since i don't see what are the matching pins on the  mini arduino pro.

suggestions?
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 12:57:22 pm by pcbNut » Logged

"The old Europe"
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 2005
Bootloaders suck!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well, you need to connect DTR to the RESET pin. Otherwise no code upload. That should be the pin labeled 'green' or GRN.
Logged

• Upload doesn't work? Do a loop-back test.
• There's absolutely NO excuse for not having an ISP!
• Your AVR needs a brain surgery? Use the online FUSE calculator.
My projects: RGB LED matrix, RGB LED ring, various ATtiny gadgets...
• Microsoft is not the answer. It is the question, and the answer is NO!

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
making this look easy
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i find it odd that reset should be labelled grn, when there is a reset pin?

but okay, there are six wires to connect. if i just assume this is straight wiring, then i get...

ftdi         arduino
============
dtr(grn) -> grn
rxi      -> txo
txo      -> rxi
5v       -> vcc
cts      -> gnd
gnd(blk) -> blk


is this correct? is there an official document that shows the wiring?
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 04:13:54 pm by pcbNut » Logged

"The old Europe"
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 2005
Bootloaders suck!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The DTR pin is special. There's a small capacitor in between it and the chip's reset pin to create a short reset pulse.

The silkscreen on this board seems a bit misleading. The pinout should match the 'official' FTDI cable, hence the black/green labeling.

http://www.ftdichip.com/Documents/DataSheets/Modules/DS_TTL-232R_CABLES_V201.pdf

The only difference is that the cable uses RTS, whereas the Arduino relies on the DTR signal. Your breakout board has DTR, so use that one.

Also have a look at the schematic for the arduino pro mini (or mini pro, whatever) on sparkfun's website. There's a picture of how the "ftdi basic" should be wired up to that board.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 05:29:53 pm by madworm » Logged

• Upload doesn't work? Do a loop-back test.
• There's absolutely NO excuse for not having an ISP!
• Your AVR needs a brain surgery? Use the online FUSE calculator.
My projects: RGB LED matrix, RGB LED ring, various ATtiny gadgets...
• Microsoft is not the answer. It is the question, and the answer is NO!

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
making this look easy
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

completely aside, i cannot display the document you link to. the windows box has insufficient memory to install pdf reader; and a nearby linux host could not open it with evince (crashed).

any chance someone could show me a PNG image of the relevant page? or plain text?
Logged

"The old Europe"
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 2005
Bootloaders suck!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This is the usb converter's 6pin header with the wire colors/labels taken from the FTDI cable.

black  - 1 GND
brown  - 2 CTS
red    - 3 VCC
orange - 4 TXD
yellow - 5 RXD
green  - 6 RTS (ftdi cable) / DTR (sparkfun board)


If the BLK/GRN labels are matched, it should just work. The sparkfun ftdi board provides the DTR signal, therefore auto-reset for code upload works. The official ftdi-cable provides RTS, therefore auto-reset doesn't work out of the box.

If my memory is right, on windows (XP) there was a serial port setting "set RTS on close" that had to be configured to make it work. Probably only for the ftdi cable. I haven't used it on windoze for a long time. If W7 still needs that I don't know.

You could use an LED + resistor and connect the DTR line to GND and see if it blinks briefly when starting the upload procedure. As LEDs are polarized, don't forget to try it the other way round.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2010, 09:04:05 am by madworm » Logged

• Upload doesn't work? Do a loop-back test.
• There's absolutely NO excuse for not having an ISP!
• Your AVR needs a brain surgery? Use the online FUSE calculator.
My projects: RGB LED matrix, RGB LED ring, various ATtiny gadgets...
• Microsoft is not the answer. It is the question, and the answer is NO!

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
making this look easy
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

you gave the pinouts on the FT232R basic only.

that's one half of the answer i need.

because if this were designed to work with straight wiring, then i'd be connecting the TXO on the FT232R to the RXI on the Arduino pro mini.

my question is very simply: is that correct?

while it may seem like a dumb question, the traditional answer could depend on whether the arduino should be viewed as a peer or as a periferal. i want as little trial and error as possible, so i believe this should be made explicit somewhere.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 09:08:43 am by pcbNut » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello all, I was trying to burn a atmega8 bootloader into a fresh atmega8 using Arduino as a programmer (both mega-isp and using the example scetch). I tried the following baud rates? 19200; 38400 and 57600

I followed the connections from http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP and from dddanmanr.net/?p=5 with the same results.

Thanks in advance.

[eduardo@moon arduino-atmega8]$ avrdude -P /dev/ttyUSB0 -p m8 -c avrisp -b 57600 -U flash:w:ATmegaBOOT.hex:i -v

avrdude: Version 5.10, compiled on Apr  3 2010 at 18:48:10
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "/etc/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/home/eduardo/.avrduderc"
         User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

         Using Port                    : /dev/ttyUSB0
         Using Programmer              : avrisp
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 57600
         AVR Part                      : ATMEGA8
         Chip Erase delay              : 10000 us
         PAGEL                         : PD7
         BS2                           : PC2
         RESET disposition             : dedicated
         RETRY pulse                   : SCK
         serial program mode           : yes
         parallel program mode         : yes
         Timeout                       : 200
         StabDelay                     : 100
         CmdexeDelay                   : 25
         SyncLoops                     : 32
         ByteDelay                     : 0
         PollIndex                     : 3
         PollValue                     : 0x53
         Memory Detail                 :

                                  Block Poll               Page                       Polled
           Memory Type Mode Delay Size  Indx Paged  Size   Size #Pages MinW  MaxW   ReadBack
           ----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
           eeprom         4    20   128    0 no        512    4      0  9000  9000 0xff 0xff
           flash         33    10    64    0 yes      8192   64    128  4500  4500 0xff 0x00
           lfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  2000 0x00 0x00
           hfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  2000 0x00 0x00
           lock           0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  2000 0x00 0x00
           calibration    0     0     0    0 no          4    0      0     0     0 0x00 0x00
           signature      0     0     0    0 no          3    0      0     0     0 0x00 0x00

         Programmer Type : STK500
         Description     : Atmel AVR ISP
         Hardware Version: 2
         Firmware Version: 1.18
         Topcard         : Unknown
         Vtarget         : 0.0 V
         Varef           : 0.0 V
         Oscillator      : Off
         SCK period      : 0.1 us

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.12s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude: safemode: lfuse reads as E1
avrdude: safemode: hfuse reads as D9
avrdude: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed
         To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: reading input file "ATmegaBOOT.hex"
avrdude: writing flash (8170 bytes):

Writing | ############################################       | 87% 0.00s
avrdude: stk500_paged_write(): (a) protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x11
avrdude: stk500_cmd(): programmer is out of sync


I am able to change the fuses, write/read from eeprom in terminal mode and i can even read the entire flash content with no error.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2010, 04:18:53 pm by edumlopes » Logged

"The old Europe"
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 2005
Bootloaders suck!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@pcbNut: YES for [insert your favourite deity]'s sake...

Please get your pdf reader going and have a look at the documentation provided by sparkfun! The schematic of the pro mini clearly shows:

JP1

GND <---> GND
CTS <---> GND
VCC <---> VCC
TXO <---> RXI
RXI <---> TXO
DTR <---> DTR


The left side is your ftdi board, the right side the pro mini.

RXI: RX-input
TXO: TX-output
« Last Edit: August 02, 2010, 05:58:11 pm by madworm » Logged

• Upload doesn't work? Do a loop-back test.
• There's absolutely NO excuse for not having an ISP!
• Your AVR needs a brain surgery? Use the online FUSE calculator.
My projects: RGB LED matrix, RGB LED ring, various ATtiny gadgets...
• Microsoft is not the answer. It is the question, and the answer is NO!

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
making this look easy
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

after wiring it this way, i can see that GRN on the arduino pro mini indeed is a reset pin; and i can see a little extra activity from LEDs on the two boards, and that the upload process does perform a reset.

however, i'm still getting the same error.   :'(


Binary sketch size: 896 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 10:38:57 am by pcbNut » Logged

"The old Europe"
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 2005
Bootloaders suck!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Fine fine.

The blinking of the LEDs indicates the serial driver is installed. The Arduino board resets - good. This also shows you've chosen the correct serial port. As the IDE reports a maximum code size of about 14kb also shows that you've chosen a target board with an ATmega168 microcontroller. Which pro mini do you have? 168 or 328 chip?
Logged

• Upload doesn't work? Do a loop-back test.
• There's absolutely NO excuse for not having an ISP!
• Your AVR needs a brain surgery? Use the online FUSE calculator.
My projects: RGB LED matrix, RGB LED ring, various ATtiny gadgets...
• Microsoft is not the answer. It is the question, and the answer is NO!

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm getting this same error. I've tried everything on this topic but nothing is working.
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

I have a Duemilanove and Windows 7 64bit. When I connect the USB cable the TX and RX lights flash twice and PWR comes on. When I try to upload RX flashes twice but then nothing. It fails about 20 seconds later.

I don't have any facility for reflashing, what can I do?

Thanks
Logged

"The old Europe"
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 2005
Bootloaders suck!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Does the L-LED blink after pressing the reset button?

If not, there is not bootloader on the chip. If it blinks you have a bootloader, but it doesn't work. Possible causes: wrong serial port speed settings (wrong board chosen), auto-reset doesn't work (probably a driver settings issue). Manually resetting the board may work, but timing the button press needs some getting used to.

Make sure you get the latest drivers from FTDIchip.com
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 03:21:53 pm by madworm » Logged

• Upload doesn't work? Do a loop-back test.
• There's absolutely NO excuse for not having an ISP!
• Your AVR needs a brain surgery? Use the online FUSE calculator.
My projects: RGB LED matrix, RGB LED ring, various ATtiny gadgets...
• Microsoft is not the answer. It is the question, and the answer is NO!

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11   Go Up
Jump to: