Go Down

Topic: New ATmega328 (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Leonidas

Jan 04, 2011, 02:54 am Last Edit: Jan 04, 2011, 02:55 am by nik993 Reason: 1
Sooo... i decided to buy my first arduino about last week, it came in the mail and i was messing around, i made something and when i went to go show it to my girlfriend i found a wall extension that fit the arduino.

Im very new to electronics so i didnt read it or anything, turned out it was a 25V plug and i blew my arduino. im pretty sure it was the processor, thats where the smoke was coming from...

I ordered a new one... and now im waiting for it, is there something im going to have to download or something for it? or are there any suggestions? thanks alot.

ionito

What Arduino?
Anyway, probably, the 5V regulator is damaged. Maybe the 328P also. If you have a 7 to 12VDC adapter, remove the chip and measure with a voltmeter the pins 7 (Vcc) and 8 (Gnd) of the 328P empty socket. If you do not have 5V, the regulator is OFF. If it is OK, the momentary over-voltage went to the 328P and it was damaged now.

James C4S

It is far more likely you (literally) burned up the regulator than the processor itself.  Sadly, it is much easier to replace the processor than the regulator.  ;)
Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

Leonidas

its the arduino uno... so do u think it would be better to buy a new arduino?

CrossRoads

Measure between the 3.3v pin and GND, and between the 5V pin and GND, at the female header, using a digital volt meter with the 328 chip removed. If they are not measuring  as a really low resistance, you may be okay. If you blew the regulator, you may be able to run the arduino from 3 AA batteries going into the 5V pin.
If the 3.3V is measuring really low, than you probably took out the USB interface to the PC as well, and now you've got the task of replacing that surface-mount part as well.