Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7   Go Down
Author Topic: Programmer is not responding  (Read 41920 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Berlin
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Adding up on the list..

I have two new arduinos with the same problems as described above.
I would add that on the same setup, my old arduino works good.


waiting for the cosmic answer,
oori
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Strange problem, xulio - it sounds like something is physically damaged on your board.  You could try checking with a meter and see if you can figure out what it is.  Otherwise, you should be able to get a replacement.

oori: which problem do you have?  "programmer not responding"?  Which Arduino is the old board?  Which are the new ones?  Have you tried the suggestions in the troubleshooting guide?  http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#upload
Logged

Berlin
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


i was in the writing of what's in the box,   when the "solution" was found..but i leave for the future seekers..

didn't notice the rev.c has a atmega168...
to resolve: Tools --> Microcontrollers --> atmega168

then all these problems are gone..   although the usb unplug-replug trick
is a good way out of the loop once you're there.  (see text below..)

good luck,
   oori


[edit]mix of the symptoms of the above..
a. the [reset] does not work (led in pin 13 continues to blick, etc..),
and the only way to upload is using the "xulio-trick" (plugging the usb cable out and in).

after that stage ("first time upload")- the [reset] button works.

b. then - the program uploads,   or so it seems, because they don't function.
    don't send any serial data to the computer (not seen in monitor, nor do the tx led on the arduino), it does receive serial data from the computer (the rx led on the arduino).
a test "blink" in the loop code does not work also, just to verify..

these problems are in both of the new arduino boards i bought last month.
Arduino NG rev.c  - Firmware Version: 1.15

my "old" arduino (which is working 100% in the same environment) is also an NG.

[/edit]

Logged

Spain
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Confirmed: the reset button on my board is not working (I  have another button to replace it)
Thanks mellis
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have the same problem for my new arduino diecimila :-/. I got it just one day ago. It is not possible to upload. I have this message : avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
The TX led is not blinking. My card from pcb-europe too...

The led on 13pin is working after a rest...
« Last Edit: August 19, 2007, 04:45:44 pm by shenakan » Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What operating system are you on?  Are you sure you have the right serial port selected in the Tools > Serial Port menu.  Have you tried the suggestions in the troubleshooting guide: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#toc2?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am on Mac os x 14.(powerbook G4 12"). The usb port is /dev/tty.usbserial-A400... The chipset is 168. I checked all the things. Nothing is connected on the board. The usb port is right.  
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is the power LED on the board on?  Is the PWR_SEL jumper on the two pins for USB?  Try setting upload.verbose to true in your Arduino preferences file (you can find the location from the preferences dialog in the software); only edit the file when Arduino is not running.  Then upload again, you should get more details about the process.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Is the power LED on the board on?
yes

Quote
Is the PWR_SEL jumper on the two pins for USB?

yes

Quote
Try setting upload.verbose to true in your Arduino preferences file (you can find the location from the preferences dialog in the software); only edit the file when Arduino is not running.  Then upload again, you should get more details about the process.


avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Aug 16 2007 at 18:09:58
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

         System wide configuration file is "tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/Users/shenakan/.avrduderc"
         User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

         Using Port            : /dev/tty.usbserial-A4001m2F
         Using Programmer      : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate  : 19200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

Thank for your help
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is there any chance you could try uploading from a Windows machine?  I suspect the problem is with the board, but trying it with a different OS is a good way to test that.  

How is the LED on pin 13 flashing?  Do you ever see any activity on the RX or TX leds?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The RX led is work but not the TX led. The LED on pin 13 flashing. I will try on Windows  :'(
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It is the same think on windows. I tried also on another mac (ibook). It is not possible to upload a program.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2007, 01:13:40 am by shenakan » Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It sounds like there's something wrong with the hardware (although as a software guy, I tend to jump to that conclusion too early).  Maybe something broke in the hands of the Italian postal service.  I'd get in touch with PCB Europe and ask about an exchange.  Let them know that you've asked for help in the forum and that I recommended replacing the hardware.  Maybe they'll also have some more troubleshooting ideas for you.  
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 56
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It sounds like there's something wrong with the hardware (although as a software guy, I tend to jump to that conclusion too early).  Maybe something broke in the hands of the Italian postal service.  I'd get in touch with PCB Europe and ask about an exchange.  Let them know that you've asked for help in the forum and that I recommended replacing the hardware.  Maybe they'll also have some more troubleshooting ideas for you.  
Thanks for your help.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 16
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I too get this message. I think its about timing. The board is a diecimila. a LED is already there and blinks in sync with the one I put on port 13. as delivered, the amber led on the board would flicker continuously.

to work around any delays introduced by compiling the software or such I tried with uploading from the command line, here is a way that works for me (W4M):

- copy the uisp command from the verbose upload log.
- run it in a terminal
- timeout after first transmit line
- run it again
- success

I do not have to click the reset button (its a diecimila). I would expect to reach the same when just pressing twice the upload button in the IDE, yet it seems to be too slowly reacting to meet the time window when the chip is receiving - performing the upload immediately from the command line after the timeout message arrives works though.

peter
Logged

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7   Go Up
Jump to: