Go Down

Topic: how to write and read arduino due internal flash memory? (Read 10390 times) previous topic - next topic

riddik00

hello,
I need to store data in arduino due after the power down.
what i need is, to take an IR code from a remote and store in the arduino DUE internal flash memory.
i can't find any reference anywhere to how to do that, all say to write to EEPROM but on arduino DUE there is not EEPROM.

Palliser

Hello riddik00,
I use the following library:
https://github.com/sebnil/DueFlashStorage

You can save/retrieve data from the internal Flash of Due. You will not lost the data even when power is down. The only way to lost the data is when you reprogram Due.

Caveat: You can 'brick' your Arduino Due if lack of power during writing/retrieving on flash. Regards,

p

acherian

Dear Palliser,

I am trying to use the DueFlashStorage. I am fairly new to arduino, so had few questions on this library.
1.  I am using this with ethernet shield and Due. My code is currently 32,120 (6%) of storage space. This will go up. Do you know how to change the offset of the flash page in this lib so it is not conflicting with the program itself?
2. If I use the native usb port to program, after the first time if I reprogram, IDE shows error saying flash is locked. have you come across this issue? it works ok with programming port though.

I would appreciate any inputs on this. kind regards,

MorganS

1. Don't do that. The library already has that offset built in.
2. Then use the port which works.
"The problem is in the code you didn't post."

acherian

MorganS,

Thanks for the comment. The library already has an offset: True, but that (according to SebNil, the author) is a fixed offset. It worked for him, and it may work for me, but on his blog page, he has replied to someone that it is user's responsibility to calculate offset based on the code. So I just wanted to know how to do that in case needed.