Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Our very own extention?  (Read 1800 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
New York
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 1023
E != m*c^2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I know this was a popular topic on google code, but I thought I should bring it up here.

Arduino sketches need their own extensions, e.g.: .duino or .arduino

Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

yes yes yes. Agreed!
Logged

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6252
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

There was a discussion on this topic here: http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1248240393
Logged

Cumming, GA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1643
Ultimate DIY: Arduino
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Oh please please please...   (I guess I want this...)
Logged

Seattle, USA
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 248
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Agreed. It would be useful to not share a file extension with Processing sketches. Often there are components of a project for both apps, and it would be nice to have each launch its own correct IDE.

.andy
Logged

.andy

South Africa
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 141
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can I also add my vote for this.

.ard could be a good canditate in keeping with the tradional .3 naming conventions
Logged

South African Arduino User Group

http://arduino.za.net

U of A, Tucson, AZ
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 164
Hello World
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

.ino might also work, in the spirit of the various *duinos out there.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Why not .rdn ? (aka aRDuiNo hebrew style)

Seriously, It doesn't really matter what extention really is used IMHO
Just live with .PDE....

Othewise the arduino team could have changed the pin spacing to 0.1" on the board top  ;D
Logged

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6252
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It doesn't really matter what extention really is used IMHO
Just live with .PDE....
try using Processing (Arduino's sibling environment) and see how easily you can live with clicking on sketches and have the wrong environment come up.

« Last Edit: March 12, 2010, 08:25:19 am by mem » Logged

B0100111001000011, USA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1503
I'm confused.  Wait, maybe not..
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Agreed.  I commonly name processing files similar names to my Arduino files, and it kills me because I can't figure out what the file is for smiley-razz.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
try using Processing (Arduino's sibling environment) and see how easily you can live with clicking on sketches and have the wrong environment come up.

Ah! I see!

I never used Processing in my own projects so far. I assumed it uses another extention. So it is not the case obviously

Is this the same case with Arduino's nephew Wiring?
« Last Edit: March 12, 2010, 09:19:55 am by MaBerY » Logged

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6252
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Wiring predated Arduino so its more uncle than nephew.

Wiring does use the same extension
« Last Edit: March 12, 2010, 01:29:57 pm by mem » Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This is something I'd like to do for 1.0, and also one of the reasons that I think the 1.0 name is useful.  It's a non-backwards compatible change, but one that's small and useful.  

I'm leaning towards .ade for the parallel with Processing and .pde, but .ino is tempting too.  
Logged

Seattle, USA
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 248
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Which one doesn't really matter too much, I think, as long as it != .pde. :-)

Personally, I like the parallel with Processing also, even though I have no idea what the "de" stands for -- Development Environment ??

Of course, in Italian, "Arduino" was the name of a king (as well as the bar in Ivrea), but the "ino" suffix is also signifies the diminutive.

.andy
Logged

.andy

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

yeah well as stated in the other forum topic mentioned above, .ade is used already so I think .ino would be just fine smiley

Mowcius
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: