Go Down

Topic: Waveshare e-paper displays with SPI (Read 100783 times) previous topic - next topic

panEarth

@ZinggJM

Thank you for your incredible investigation! I can confirm that now it work like a charm.

@panEarth,

see addition in #798

Added: Now I have checked with ESP32 and 7.5" b/w and it works.

Tested with GxFont_GFX_Example, board LOLIN32 Lite, board selected "Wemos LOLIN32"
Also tested on ESP8266, board Wemos D1 mini pro.
Font u8g2_font_helvR14_tf shows umlauts.

smbaker

I'm new to this and trying to understand partial update. I have a few of the waveshare 3-color displays that have really annoying refresh behavior. If I want to set just one pixel black, it takes several seconds and the whole thing flickers many times. From what I've read, that's just the way it is with this display, due to the lack of double-buffering.

I tried modifying the waveshare code for a 2.13" 3-color displays to send only an 8-pixel window, but I still ended up with the entire display flickering, and the update taking several seconds. It didn't seem any better than doing a full update, except possibly in the data transfer time. This is working as expected on these displays?

Reading ZinggIM's posts in this thread, I see there are two partial updates, a slow partial update and a fast partial update / differential update. Is there a list of which displays are capable of which partial update modes? From what I read the 4.2" display (GDEW042T2) can do it, but are there any larger ones?

I'm looking to be able to update about a dozen pixels, and do so at least 3 times a second.

Thanks,
Scott

ZinggJM

@smbaker,

The 1.54" b/w 200x200 e-paper display is the only one I know that can do more than 1 partial update per second, I think 3 per second is about the limit.

Wavshare has a list with update times and information about partial update or not.
3-color e-paper displays can have partial update of screen parts, but always slow and with flicker.