Go Down

Topic: Artificial Motor Noise (Read 416 times) previous topic - next topic

5dollarjoe

Hello, I built an electric motorcycle this past summer; and I want to use arduino to create artificial motor noise.

My throttle is a 0-5kohm potentiometer. I was thinking of wiring the arduino to those inputs in parallel to adjust the frequency of a looping sound file from a sd card or right on the arduino's ram.

Ideally I could spice the audio from a star wars landspeeder, upload it to the arudino, and have the frequency adjust when I pull on the throttle. The result would be artificial motor noise, with the sound output changing as my speed increases.

i am a complete novice to arduino, and ideas on where to start or if this is feasible?

DVDdoug

Jan 25, 2016, 05:51 pm Last Edit: Jan 25, 2016, 05:59 pm by DVDdoug
My throttle is a 0-5kohm potentiometer.
You'll need to know the voltage coming out of the pot.  Do you have a multimeter/

Ideally I could spice the audio from a star wars landspeeder, upload it to the arudino, and have the frequency adjust when I pull on the throttle.
I don't know what a landspeeder sounds like.*   You can get an audio shield (which has the memory and all of the audio circuitry to play WAV or MP3 files, except you'll need to add a power amplifier to drive the speaker). 

Then, you can control playback with the Arduino.   Volume control should be easy, but varying pitch/frequency is not as easy...    It's easy if you can vary the sample rate (i.e. 44.1kHz), but pre-made audio shields are designed to run at standard frequencies (whatever the WAV or MP3 says in it's file-header).   

Normally when you vary the pitch of an audio file with a computer, it gets re-sampled and I don't think the Arduino has enough processing power for real-time re-sampling.  And, normal audio shields wouldn't allow you to read the audio file and process before feeding it the DAC.