Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: SNMP_Libraries  (Read 4623 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

This is my first time in the forum so HI and here is my question:

I´m trying to develop an RMU (Remote Monitoring Unit) with the Duemilanove Arduino module. I have to read the data of different sensors using the Arduino microprocessor (ATmega328 in my case) and then i have to comunicate this data to the central computer through Ethernet (using the Arduinos Ethernet Shield). The point is, the software in the central computer works with SNMP protocol so my remote module must understand that protocol. Meaning that: when the central computer sends an SNMP packet, that packet goes in the TCP/IP packet, when it gets to my remote  module (trought Ethernet) the Ethernet Shield takes the data(SNMP packet) out of the TCP/IP packet, and sends it  to the Arduino microprocesor, so the microprocessor MUST UNDERSTAND SNMP PROTOCOL TO MAKE THE PROCESS EASY AND DECODE THE PACKET!!!...

And I can´t find ANY SNMP LIBRARY FOR ARDUINO!!!.. SO i would REALLY apreciate some help with this..

Thanks for the helP!!  smiley

Nova Scotia, CA
A world that runs on bits and bytes!
View Profile

SNMP relies on UDP/IP and not TCP/IP.

Common sense is not so common...

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

SNMP is Simple Network Mail Protocol. Your computer is sending e-mail to your Arduino? I hope it's not expecting a reply in real time.

View Profile

If youd search youd see my previous reply to this issue.
There is no snmp arduino lib yet.

Someone located a Microchip eth kit that has snmp.  
But it has to:
1. be ported to arduino. (and license checked, it may be for pics only)
2. be easily configurable by users.
3. interface - you want a interface to do other things, so this has to be added.