Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino + Asus EEEPC works  (Read 4444 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Arduino 0010 works on the Asus EEEPC in Advanced mode, just add the extra repositories, install gcc-avr and avr-libc and your good to go  ;D

The EEE is a nice little platform to work on, small and compact, I can now take my stuff with me and work on projects in a coffee shop.  Just need to get my USB oscilloscope working and I'll be all set.
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 1
Posts: 491
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Works in simple mode too. Now I just need to add a nice chunky Arduino icon to the Play tab...

Andrew

Edit - used the "loading.gif" from the Arduino distribution:

« Last Edit: December 21, 2007, 04:32:23 am by Andrew » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Could you provide a little more detail about what you did to get it up and running on your machines?
Thanks.
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 1
Posts: 491
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just had to rebuild my Asus Eee PC (somehow I lost all sound output from Flash movies) and this time I kept a note of the steps I took to get Arduino running.

1. Add full Debian repository to your apt-get sources file:

  sudo vi /etc/apt/sources.list

and add a new line containing this:

  deb http://www.uk.debian.org/debian stable main contrib non-free

2. Update the apt-get indexes:

  sudo apt-get update

3. Get a working build environment and the AVR versions of tools:

  sudo apt-get install build-essential
  sudo apt-get install  avr-libc
  sudo apt-get install  gcc-avr

4. Install the Arduino files in your home directory:

  cd /home/user
  wget http://www.arduino.cc/files/arduino-0010-linux.tgz
  tar -xvzf arduino-0010-linux.tgz

5. Try it out:
  cd arduino-0010
  ./arduino

Getting an icon to appear in the launcher is just icing on the cake which I haven't bothered to do this time.

Hope this helps.

Andrew
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Andrew:

Thanks.  Worked great.
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Awesome.  Thanks for posting the instructions.  You should consider updating the Debian Linux page on the playground to use your steps.  The current instructions install an old version of the software that some MIT folks created a Debian package for, but which doesn't work (I think) with the Diecimila.  It would be cool to have up-to-date directions, especially since it seems pretty simple.
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 1
Posts: 491
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've added it as a separate page for now (http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Linux/Xandros) as the Asus Eee PC already has Java installed whereas some random Debian distribution might not.

Andrew
« Last Edit: January 24, 2008, 09:00:57 am by Andrew » Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Cool!
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 1
Posts: 491
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Cool!

Thanks for adding a link to the Dev Tools page on the wiki - I hadn't found that one. Do you know if the wiki has the "show what pages link to this page" feature that MediaWiki has?

Andrew
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am not having good luck with this.
I have followed the instructions but I'm not getting what I think I should be.
When I start up arduino from the command line I get the following screen:


And when I click on any file to open it I get the following:
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel not found in gnu.gcj.runtime.SystemClassLoader{urls=[file:lib/,file:lib/build/,file:lib/pde.jar,file:lib/antlr.jar,file:lib/oro.jar,file:lib/registry.jar,file:lib/mrj.jar,file:lib/RXTXcomm.jar], parent=gnu.gcj.runtime.ExtensionClassLoader{urls=[], parent=null}}
   at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(libgcj.so.70)
   at gnu.gcj.runtime.SystemClassLoader.findClass(libgcj.so.70)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(libgcj.so.70)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(libgcj.so.70)
   at java.lang.Class.forName(libgcj.so.70)
   at javax.swing.UIManager.setLookAndFeel(libgcj.so.70)
   at processing.app.Base.<init>(Base.java:131)
   at processing.app.Base.main(Base.java:104)
Stable Library
=========================================
Native lib Version = RXTX-2.1-7
Java lib Version   = RXTX-2.1-7
./arduino: line 16: 24806 Segmentation fault      java processing.app.Base

I know I'm missing something, but I don't know what it is.
Can some one throw me a line here?
Thanks
Logged

Wuppertal/Germany
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 895
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
looks like you are using the gnu-gcj version of java which gives you this error.

There is a  command on the eeepc-OS that lets you switch to the Java-Runtime from Sun which is also installed on the eeepc by default. Open a terminal (Ctrl-Alt-T) and list the options for java
Code:
/home/user> sudo update-java-alternatives -l
java-1.5.0-sun 53 /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun

The following should switch to the sun-runtime
Code:
/home/user> sudo update-java-alternatives -s java-1.5.0-sun

Please report back if that works for you so we can update the playground-article

Eberhard

  
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

YEs! That worked perfectly. Thank you
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 1
Posts: 491
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I don't remember doing that - mine just worked with Java out of the box. Strange.

Andrew
Logged

Wuppertal/Germany
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 895
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, Andrew
Quote
I don't remember doing that - mine just worked with Java out of the box. Strange.
Yes it is, I also can't remember I had to do that when I installed the Arduino for the first time. But since I was only fooling around with the eeepc until I locked myself out of the System (or rather filled the disk to its last available byte) I can't tell any more. After restoring the system I installed the JDK 1.6 right away, so I don't know.

That tip with update-alternatives-java was just a wild guess. Maybe the problem with the gcj-lib goes away when the system  
is upgraded?

Anyway I will add this to the Playground-Article.

Eberhard
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 12
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I need some help. I followed the instructions outlined here to get Arduino working on a different eeePC and everything worked fine. So I ordered a couple 2G Surfs for my electronics class. I went through the instructions exactly as outlined and I get:

./arduino: line 16: java: command not found

I'm a total n00b when it comes to Linux, so any help would be greatly appreciated. So far I've tried:
  • Restarting
  • Running the update and install commands again (tells me everything is up to date)
  • Tried "sudo update-java-alternatives -s java-1.5.0-sun" but it told me the command was not found

So far I've only tried this on one of the two I ordered.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

New Addition:
Java seems to be working, I downloaded Processing and it seems to run fine.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2008, 02:58:48 pm by falconphysics » Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
Jump to: