Poll
Question: DO we need another editor for Arduino code?
Yes - 60 (84.5%)
No - I like the current processing IDE - 8 (11.3%)
No - I have found something else altogether - 3 (4.2%)
Total Voters: 71

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6   Go Down
Author Topic: .net based Arduino Sketch Editor  (Read 8102 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Lisbon
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
<Write some personal #$>
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've started a "small" project to build a sketch editor in c#. i will only work in Windows for now...
It's not ready yet for a download but i have some screenshots that i like to share with you.

I don't have much time for a project like this but I've managed to "convince" the company that i work for to sponsor it by letting me spend some hours a week in the project...  8-)

I will "opensource" it in the future... ( because of the sponsorship, some internal decisions have to be made...  smiley-wink )

So, here are the screenshots:



I'am trying to make some sort of autocomplete (intellisence)  :smiley



Can you give-me some opinions based on this (very very small amount of) information? smiley

« Last Edit: May 20, 2009, 02:12:11 pm by Curs0r » Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 1
Posts: 491
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

My opinion is "wow!". Good work!

Andrew
Logged

Bonn, Germany
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 2
Posts: 903
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

great work!
Logged

Believe me, Mike, I calculated the odds of this succeeding against the odds I was doing something incredibly stupid[ch8230] and I went ahead

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 55
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

When using visual basic (years ago, but getting back into it) i really like the popup menu with suggestions for what you are trying to write. Is this what i can see here? Looks very good anyway, keep us updated!

Logged

Newcastle, UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 239
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Great piece of work  smiley.

I look forward to using it when you release it.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Very much looking forward to this!
Logged

Boston
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 101
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

intellisense is a fantastic feature!  the one that would put it over the top for me would be step-through debugging.  I can see all kinds of problems implementing that though.
Logged

San Francisco
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That's great.  Yeah, I use Visual Studio plus an add-in called Visual Assist for doing my sketches mostly for the intellisense, though also for the syntax coloring, refactoring functions, and auto-formatting.   It'd be great to have this in a simpler package.  

But it seems a shame to use C# for this and tie it down to one platform.  I suppose the .net framework makes it easier to get the UI, etc. going quickly.  Still, a lot of people use Windows, so it's probably worth it.

Good luck; I'm happy to beta test.

Cheers,
Paul
« Last Edit: May 28, 2009, 01:04:00 am by pvercello » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@Paul V.: couldn't this also run/be ported to Mono?
Logged

Palmetto, FL USA
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 138
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
@Paul V.: couldn't this also run/be ported to Mono?

Theoretically yes, but it depends upon the version of .NET that was used, the amount Windows specific code used (Win32 API calls, COM objects, hard coded paths, UI methods, registry, etc).

As long as those types of things are not used, or segregated into libraries that can be replaced with mono compatible versions, then it is possible to either run directly on mono, or quickly port the app.
Logged

San Francisco
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

> Mono

Interesting; I hadn't heard of it until now.  Looks promising.  Looks like as long as you don't use the .net 3.0 api's, porting should be straightforward.

That's good to know about.

-Paul
Logged

Lisbon
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
<Write some personal #$>
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Just a screen shot of the current work.

Logged

London, Ontario, Canada
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 90
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The intellisense looks good.  My question would be about extra libraries or imported routines.  Does your code have some method to determine the correct syntax/options on imported libs?  Or if I have created a function in the same file and try to use that function, do the options come up?

Perhaps now is the time to talk about self-documenting code.  Where comments in the function are used by the editor to display 'sensed' options.

How did you implement the intellisense?  Is it hard coded into the program or is there a config file with all options?  When the arduino guys add a new command or function, how hard is it to add it to your library?

Also remember that the entire gcc library is available in an arduino sketch.

Logged

Lisbon
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
<Write some personal #$>
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

some replys:

harry:
yes thats a popup menu with suggestions for what you are trying to write

br3ttb:
i think that for step-through debugging i have some problems:

   1 - i may try and use an integration with gdb/Simulavr - i think Simulavr is outdated and updating it is not simple... (gdb with an emulator?)  
   2 - writing a simulator from scratch is a very hard work...
   3 - Integration with the simulator in avr-studio? i don't know if the sdk from Atmel allows this... maybe i can try an contact Atmel on the subject and see if I can get any response...  ;D

   Can anyone help give some opinions about this?

   So, Maybe in the future step-through debugging will be possible...

Paul V.:
I didn't know Visual Assist (Opps)

Solidus117:
Robert Lee:
well my code is portable but i have to see if any of the components use some kind pinvoke thats w32 expecific... (i will run moma and see the results)

All:
thanks for all the nice words...
« Last Edit: May 31, 2009, 09:23:45 pm by Curs0r » Logged

Lisbon
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
<Write some personal #$>
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Mark Bramwell:

I use ctags for parsing and generating information for intellisence from the libraries header files.
Because of scopes for the code being written in the current sketch (project) an internal parser is used. this is still being worked on
(ctags just reads globals, classes, etc...)

 8-)
« Last Edit: May 31, 2009, 08:16:19 pm by Curs0r » Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6   Go Up
Jump to: