Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Is Deviceprint immpossible to make work?  (Read 1689 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have tried nemerous things to make the DevicePrint demo to work(thanks sirmorris).  You can find it here (http://arduinonut.blogspot.com/2009/02/libraries.html).  I am running arduino-0015 on Ubuntu Linux.  I'm using this circuit: http://circuitfun.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/spi-to-usd.jpg?w=497&h=345.  This is where I run into a snag:

uFat / DevicePrint Demo
2009 arduinonut.blogspot.com

Error  Couldn't initialise microfat
<press reset>uFat / DevicePrint Demo
2009 arduinonut.blogspot.com

Error  Couldn't initialise microfat
<press reset>

I get this over the serial connection.  As you can see I pressed the reset button but the same thing happens again.

I am desperate for help.

Thanks!!!
« Last Edit: April 14, 2009, 05:17:55 pm by spencerb8 » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It worked first time for me. Where's the program stopping? IIRC the microfat startup can fail in 3 places, find out where it's stopping and that will tell you what the problem is.

git
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 79
Combat, please!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Indeed.

Here's is a test sketch that should give some more information:

http://groups.google.com/group/micro-hacker/web/dptest.rar?hl=en

I have copied the library code into the sketch folder to make it easier to modify. Run the sketch and report what happens. It will not work with the libraries in place. Before you load the arduino-0015 gui and this sketch, DELETE OR MOVE THE FOLLOWING DIRECTORIES AND THEIR CONTENTS:

.\arduino-0015\hardware\libraries\microfat2
.\arduino-0015\hardware\libraries\mmc
.\arduino-0015\hardware\libraries\DevicePrint

Report back on what result you get.

C
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

When I go to compile the brown bar shows up but it does not say anything.  What do I do?

Thanks!
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 79
Combat, please!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is the board connected? Is the serial port set correctly?

Can you tell us what you have done so far to find out why this is happening? That would help a lot. If you can say that the board is connected and the IDE can communicate then that narrows things down. Can you upload other sketches? Is there smoke coming from anything?


Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Its not on my arduino yet.  I did what you said then I clicked the play button to make sure there was no errors and the brownish redish bar came up.  But whats wierd is it said nothing.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 79
Combat, please!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Did you change the text in the sketch to try and induce an error?
Did you do anything other than click the play button?
Try setting the compiler to verbose output. The information is available  on the main site on how to do this.

« Last Edit: April 15, 2009, 10:44:41 am by sirmorris » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No, I didn't change the text at all.  Yes, all I did was click the play button.  I'll try the verbose output.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I turned on the verbose output but the same bar shows up.  If sombody tells me how to upload a pic I will take a screen shot.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Good news!!!!
DevicePrint is not impossible to make work!!
Well at least with the arduino fourm.

This is what I got:
uFat / DevicePrint Demo
2009 arduinonut.blogspot.com

All initialised OK!
Writing...
Done!

And poof.

I did three things, first, in libraries I changed wconstants to WConstants as well as wprogram to WProgram.  Second, I built sirmorris's circuit instead of some other thing.  Third made sure there was a file on my SD card named data.txt and some data on it(I put 11mb of "B") on it.  Thats it!!



Thanks sirmorris and everybody else!!!! smiley

Does anybody know how to make it write over the 512 bytes?



« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 12:30:49 am by spencerb8 » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 79
Combat, please!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Does anybody know how to make it write over the 512 bytes?

You just keep writing strings. No other action is required. You can't write a string larger than 512 bytes in one go, as this would overflow the buffer.

Glad it's working for you!

C
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok, I'll try it out. smiley
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am going to make a barcode datalogger.  I need some help modifying the code.

The code link is at the bottom of the page:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/ComponentLib/BarcodeScanner

If you are going to help me:
Please make the format like this:
728923845787
32587487238585945
23453245236467467
24523657756786
245
25645756756865
345734733567

You get the point, I want every scan to be on its own line like up there.  And I want every error that might come up to flash an led continuously on digital pin 8. I want the same led to be lit whenever it can accept another scan(so the led turns off for about 500 ms and turn on again when it can accept another scan).

Thanks!!
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is anybody there?
Logged

London
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 6255
Have fun!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You may get a better response if you focus on a specific problem that is standing in your way.  Perhaps explain your ideas for  how you want to interface the datalogger to the existing code and say how much you have done?
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: