Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]   Go Down
Author Topic: another cnc mill questionaire  (Read 25005 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

like that ?



ps.: did i tell you lately that i am a noob? smiley-wink
Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1318
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

perfick smiley
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

its a miracle! with a tear in my eye i see the machine moving to all the places i want her to. i think it will take some time until i trust this baby but i guess we did it.

oh my god, i am tired!
Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1318
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

smiley smiley smiley
excellent news!
well done you
have a beer (ok maybe a bit early)
smiley smiley smiley
« Last Edit: January 13, 2011, 07:48:53 am by mmcp42 » Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

beside of the fact that i have to redesign my machine to make it stronger erverything works now. i am extremly thankful for your kind help!

one last thing: would you tell me with which software you generate the gcode for the cncdriver as i struggle a little getting the right code out of cut2d and cut3d.

have a very nice day!
Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1318
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

my interest is pcb milling
so I use Eagle to design then layout the pcb
there is a plug-in pcb-gcode that creats the gcode directly from the layout

I don't know cut2d or cut3d
« Last Edit: January 13, 2011, 10:32:44 am by mmcp42 » Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

great thread guys. have you tried your program in linux(Wine?)
Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1318
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

nope
strictly windoze man, me

is wine windows-on-linux?

give it a try!!
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, its an emulator.

well, it opens... do you have a bit if g-code i could try to run. i don't have anything built, but i will try to see if it talks to the arduino.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

when i try to compile the sketch GCode_Interpreter.pde i keep getting this error:
'Serial' was not declared in this scope
this is the line it highlights line 70:
   Serial.begin(19200);

here is the whole error
Code:
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void setup()':
GCode_Interpreter:69: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
GCode_Interpreter:82: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter:125: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter:131: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter:132: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter:147: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'boolean Checksum(char*, int)':
GCode_Interpreter:193: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'boolean ProcessComment(char*, int)':
processComment:6: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'boolean ProcessGcode(char*, int)':
processGcode:95: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:104: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:126: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:130: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:134: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:138: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:141: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:154: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:159: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:200: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:245: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:257: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:266: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:277: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:288: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:299: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:308: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:317: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processGcode:325: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void DebugUnits()':
processGcode:333: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'boolean ProcessMcode(char*, int)':
processMcode:19: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processMcode:32: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processMcode:45: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processMcode:57: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processMcode:69: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processMcode:83: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processMcode:95: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
processMcode:107: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void process_string(char*, int)':
process_string:19: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
process_string:34: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void dda_move(long int)':
stepper_control:119: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void Heartbeat()':
stepper_control:224: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void calculate_deltas()':
stepper_control:315: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void disable_steppers()':
stepper_control:397: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'void enable_steppers()':
stepper_control:412: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
GCode_Interpreter.cpp: In function 'bool PanicStop()':
stepper_control:428: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
stepper_control:443: error: 'Serial' was not declared in this scope
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i tried this:
Code:
G91
G21
G01 Y10
G01 X10
G01 X50
G01 Y50
G01 X-50
G01 Y-50


and got the same "unable to open com port (win error code: 2)"

I'll have to look at the com ports tomorrow, its almost 5 AM

Also: When this error box popped up, I accidentally clicked outside of it and to my dismay noticed that the close min and max buttons were gone! now i had a window i couldn't minimize to get back to the pop-up error box.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2011, 08:43:53 am by joel383 » Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1318
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

the missing serial library...
which version of the Arduino IDE are you using?
I use 21

The second problem (COM port)...
is caused by not selecting the right COM port!)
try tools..options and select the COM port that your Arduino is connected to

and finally...
the error box is modal
try using ALT-TAB to find it!
(silly windoze)
« Last Edit: January 22, 2011, 09:20:28 am by mmcp42 » Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@joel: use sketch 21 - it works then. if you use 22 then you get this error.

regarding the ports. go to the device manager and set the port of the arduino to com5.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

looks like its too big for my Diecimila.

even if i tried to use integer instead of using floating point it only saves two kb

Code:
Binary sketch size: 17612 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)
processing.app.debug.RunnerException: Sketch too big; see http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#size for tips on reducing it.
      at processing.app.Sketch.size(Unknown Source)
      at processing.app.Sketch.build(Unknown Source)
      at processing.app.Sketch.build(Unknown Source)
      at processing.app.Editor$DefaultRunHandler.run(Unknown Source)
      at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:636)

edit: thanks theMPloc
« Last Edit: January 22, 2011, 09:07:37 pm by joel383 » Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1318
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

nooooooooooooooooo
do not use integer instead of float to save space!

a better idea is to hack out some of the lesser used routines
the two arc functions are good candidates to lose
G2 and G3 in the Gcode file
you could also discard the spindle controls if you're not using them
M3 M4 and M5 in the Mcode file

if you do make changes, let me know what you did
cheers and good luck
Mike

PS could always buy a bigger Arduino smiley
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]   Go Up
Jump to: