Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 9   Go Down
Author Topic: another cnc mill questionaire  (Read 30377 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

well one of us is stupid
oops that'll be me - I looked at an old version of the file  :-[
sorry 'bout that

you can remove steps_per_mm as they are not used
I changed the code to calculate them from steps_per_inch

meanwhile
why does your jog not jog enough? hmm

the units are steps per mm not steps per turn
so if G1Y500 moves you 62.5mm then something is set up wrong as it should move 500mm
so multiply your steps per mm by 500/62.5 = 8 and it should work
jog would then move 1.25 * 8 = 10mm as advertised!! smiley
« Last Edit: January 10, 2011, 12:02:15 pm by mmcp42 » Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

your file should look like this:

Code:
//=====================================
// define the parameters of our machine
//=====================================
#define X_STEPS_PER_INCH 32512
#define Y_STEPS_PER_INCH 32512
#define Z_STEPS_PER_INCH 32512
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ok
I have added a button to home all 3 axes

you will need a new CNCdriver and a new sketch
before I upload them - have you made any changes to the code?
(apart from init_pde of course  :-[ )
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

great! no i did not make any changes apart the init.pde. to let you know: now the machine goes 10mm when i want her to;)

« Last Edit: January 10, 2011, 02:15:06 pm by theMPloc » Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Excellent
as soon as I finish my supper I will upload Mk II
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

superdup
Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ok I have uploaded the new shiny versions of CNCdriver (1.02) and the sketch (v1.4)
they are in the same place as before:

http://www.mmcpix.com/CNC/CNCdriver.zip

http://www.mmcpix.com/CNC/GCode_Interpreter.zip

You will notice that I have increased the number of settings in Tools :: Options

I found that I can get twice the speed by setting the
Timers :: Timer to 10mS

It also remembers the sizes and poistions of the forms as well as the panel sizes on the main form

let me know how you get on
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

hi! i am connecting the switches at the moment and am confused again. init.pde tells me that the switches of the y-axis and z-axis connect to the same pins on the arduino. in my little head this doesn´t make sense. is this ok?
Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

two things
a) I just uploaded a new version of the CNCdriver (1.03)
there was a buglet in options setting!

b) cough
I haven't got Z switches installed yet so I faked it by making them the same as Y!
so go ahead and change the pins to 11 and 12
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

troubles in tyrol. as i have connected the switches the machine behaves strange. basically if i press the arrow buttons, the machine most of the time doesent move at all, just making a small "click" which i guess comes from the enable pin, then followed by a high sound (during the time it should move).  the only axis that moves sometimes is the x-axis. when it moves and i manually press the endswitch it stops as supposed to.

when i disconnect the switches from arduino and try with the v1 of cnc driver the machine moves like it should.

thats crazy smiley-wink
Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

did you download v1.03?
you should also check the options settings are "sensible"

you may find that v1.02 has messed up some of the settings
if you want - you can send me your CNCconfig.ini
XP - it should be in the windows folder

a high pitched sound usually means the feed rate is set too high and the motors can't keep up
but if it works with 1.01 then that's odd!

I guess you're using the same version of the sketch?
did you change all the init.pde settings properly?

let me know...
« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 09:32:12 am by mmcp42 » Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

hi again. i am using cncdriver 1.03. which is installed in a seperate folder. i have no clue where to find cncdriver.cfg smiley-wink

here is the init.pde that i use:
Code:
// constant for mm conversions
//============================
#define MM_PER_INCH 25.4

//=====================================
// define the parameters of our machine
//=====================================
#define X_STEPS_PER_INCH 32512
#define Y_STEPS_PER_INCH 32512
#define Z_STEPS_PER_INCH 32512

//==================================
//our maximum feedrates units/minute
//==================================
#define FAST_XY_FEEDRATE_INCH 50.0
#define FAST_Z_FEEDRATE_INCH  50.0

//=======================
// Units in curve section
//=======================
#define CURVE_SECTION_MM 0.5

//=========================================
// Set to one if sensor outputs inverting
// (ie: 1 means open, 0 means closed)
// RepRap opto endstops are *not* inverting
//=========================================
#define SENSORS_INVERTING 0

//===============================================
// digital i/o pin assignment
// odd choices are for convenience to connectors
// NB Arduino pins 14-19 correspond to analog 0-5
//===============================================

//============================
// pin 0 used for serial comms
// pin 1 used for serial comms
//============================
#define SERIAL_RX_PIN 0
#define SERIAL_TX_PIN 1

//=======================================================
// shared enable pin (for rapid shutdown off all motors!)
//=======================================================
#define X_ENABLE_PIN 8
#define Y_ENABLE_PIN 18  // sb8
#define Z_ENABLE_PIN 19  // sb8

//===========================
// cartesian bot pins X-plane
// 6 7 A0 A1
//===========================
#define X_STEP_PIN 7
#define X_DIR_PIN 6
#define X_MIN_PIN 14
#define X_MAX_PIN 15

//===========================
// cartesian bot pins Y-plane
// 2 3 4 5
//===========================
#define Y_STEP_PIN 2
#define Y_DIR_PIN 3
#define Y_MIN_PIN 5
#define Y_MAX_PIN 4

//==================================================
// pin 13 used for heartbeat as it already has a LED
//==================================================
# define HEARTBEAT_PIN 13

//===========================
// cartesian bot pins Z-plane
// 9 10 11 12
//===========================
#define Z_STEP_PIN 9
#define Z_DIR_PIN 10
#define Z_MIN_PIN 11  // sb 11
#define Z_MAX_PIN 12  // sb 12

//==============
// motor control
// A4
//==============
#define MOTOR_ON_PIN 18           // HIGH = ON, LOW = OFF

//========================================
// motor direction doesn't have a pin yet!
//========================================
// #define MOTOR_DIRECTION_PIN 20    // HIGH = Clockwise, LOW = Anti-clockwise

//======================
// panic stop/reset
// A2 A3
//======================
#define PANIC_STOP_PIN 16
#define PANIC_OVER_PIN 17

//==================================================
// pin 19 (A5) is used for serial output to display
//==================================================
# define LCD_SERIAL_PIN 19



Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

that looks ok
I guess you are using the same sketch with CNCdriver 1.01 and 1.03?

CNCconfig.ini is the file you want
should be in windows folder
or get the PC to search for it!
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i found something out (its funny)

when i press the jog to the left button and nothing happens - then i (manually press the x max switch one time and then press the jog to the left button again the machine moves to the left. if i then press (manually) the x min switch , the machine stops.
Code:
[Main]
Top=0
Left=0
Height=612
Width=1032
FilePanelWidth=480
ReplyPanelWidth=203
JogPanelWidth=200
MainPanelHeight=225
[Options]
Top=149
Left=509
Height=589
Width=441
[Serial]
Port=COM5
BaudRate=19200
[Drawing]
PenWidth=3
PenColor=16777215
PixelsPerUnit=256
OriginX=2,5
OriginY=2,5
CursorPenWidth=1
CursorColor=65535
CursorSize=16
StepSize=64
DoStep=0
[Timer]
ShortCommandTick=10000
LongCommandTick=30000
TimerTick=50
[GCommands]
RapidMove=G0
RapidMove2=G00
FeedMove=G1
FeedMove2=G01
ClockwiseArc=G2
ClockwiseArc2=G02
AntiClockwiseArc=G3
AntiClockwiseArc2=G03
Dwell=G4
Dwell2=G04
Inches=G20
MM=G21
Absolute=G90
Relative=G91
[MCommands]
GetPosition=M114
Start=M254
RequestLast=M255
[CommandInitCommands]
Count=0
[JogCommands]
JogIncX=RapidMove X10
JogDecX=RapidMove X-10
JogIncY=RapidMove Y10
JogDecY=RapidMove Y-10
JogIncZ=RapidMove Z10
JogDecZ=RapidMove Z-10
[HomeCommands]
HomeStart=RapidMove
HomeEnd=
HomeX=
HomeY=
HomeZ=
« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 09:53:28 am by theMPloc » Logged

Leighton Buzzard, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1339
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

aha I can see that you are a few settings missing
easiest way to fix is with 1.03
tools :: options
initialisation tab
add

Absolute
MM


Home tab
set
Move Command RapidMove
X clause X-100
Y clause Y-100
Z clause Z-100

Save

try that!
Logged

there are only 10 types of people
them that understands binary
and them that doesn't

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 9   Go Up
Jump to: