Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Real-time control from Java  (Read 1747 times)
Evesham, UK
Programming since 1965
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi! An Arduino newbie here - in fact still waiting for my hardware to arrive.

What I really want to do is program the ports from a real-time Java program, so that I can do analog / digital IO from the host Java program (and have the user interact with it), not just in an uploaded on-chip program.

I presume that I have to use the USB serial port to do the communications, but what about the software at each end of this link? My ideal would be to find that there is an Arduino program which responds to a real-time interaction protocol, and a set of Java classes which provide the host-end of that protocol.

Is there any such software around?

I presume that the development / uploader system has some of the ingredients I would need. I've found the .java source code of some classes that seem to have the right names, but is there any documentation which would help me understand where to start with these classes?

TIA,

Chris

Wuppertal/Germany
God Member
View Profile

Hi Chris,
.... What I really want to do is program the ports from a real-time Java program, so that I can do analog / digital IO from the host Java program (and have the user interact with it), not just in an uploaded on-chip program.

I presume that I have to use the USB serial port to do the communications, but what about the software at each end of this link?
What do you mean by "Real-time" something like this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Real-time_computing then,
sorry for the bad news, but your real-time ambitions already stop inside the USB-scheduler of the operating system.
There is a realtime Linux and realtime Java, but no realtime USB-handling on either of them.

But if "Real-time" to you simply means "do something so fast, the user won't notice any delay from button click to action"