Go Down

Topic: Help to get started (Read 470 times) previous topic - next topic

Barsik_The_CaT

So, I decided to get into robotics. My final goal - remotely controlled UAV with camera, payload and (preferably, but not necessary) a manipulator. My problem is that every single 'getting started' tutorial leaves me with a ton of questions and I don't really understand anything. I'd like some sort of guide for super retarted people, or even someone skilled to answer even the most stupid questions I might ask.

Robin2

It's the same as eating an elephant. Do it in small bites.

If you have no Arduino experience buy an Uno and work through several of the example programs that come with the Arduino IDE.

As your experience grows you will begin to understand mote and (importantly) will be better able to explain what you need help with.

Have a look at Planning and Implementing a Program although it was not written for a complete novice. You will see that the whole thing is a collection of small pieces.

...R
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

Barsik_The_CaT

From other sources I found out that arduino is basically c++ (correct me if I'm wrong), but arduino IDE is not much of an IDE and it's a better idea to use a plugin for MSVS. Is it correct?
Also, what exactly is arduino uno? Some kind of basic controller for starters, or...?

larryd

Jun 24, 2016, 07:02 pm Last Edit: Jun 24, 2016, 07:02 pm by LarryD
Your in luck, the Internet has tutorials to help you get started.

YouTube for example:
https://m.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLA567CE235D39FA84

No technical PMs.
The last thing you did is where you should start looking.

Robin2

but arduino IDE is not much of an IDE
If you are already an expert programmer you may indeed find the Arduino IDE a bit limiting. But that is not who it is aimed at.

If you are a beginner the Arduino IDE makes it very easy to get started.