Go Down

Topic: how to use additional .c files in a sketch (Read 484 times) previous topic - next topic

beginner

I am a beginner with the Arduino environment and I need some help figuring out how to use some .c source files in a sketch without creating a library. I tried to find the answer on the forum but I couldn't, I apologize if the solution to my problem is somewhere in the posts and I just missed it.

So, I have a test.h file that contains only:

Code: [Select]

void doSomething(void);

The test.c file contains:

#include "test.h"

void doSomething(void)
{
     // there should be some code here
}

In my sketch, I have:

#include "test.h"

void setup()
{
 doSomething();
}

void loop()
{
}

I am not sure if this was needed or not but I also went to the Sketch menu and use Add File... to include both .h and .c file.

When I compile I get:

o: In function `setup':
C:\DOCUME~1\coprea\LOCALS~1\Temp\build50525.tmp/Temporary_3386_6704.cpp:6: undefined reference to `doSomething()'

C:\DOCUME~1\coprea\LOCALS~1\Temp\build50525.tmp/Temporary_3386_6704.cpp:8: undefined reference to `doSomething()'

If I understand correctly from the Build Process page, this should work so I am sure I am missing something. Thanks for your help in advance!

mikalhart

Dec 10, 2008, 05:47 am Last Edit: Dec 10, 2008, 05:48 am by mikalhart Reason: 1
beginner--

The problem stems from the fact that you are trying to link a C function from a C++ module, without explicitly declaring that fact.  There are several solutions, including:

a) rename test.c to test.cpp
b) remove the #include "test.h" from your main sketch and replace it with
extern "C" void doSomething(void);
c) change the header to the clumsy:

#if defined(__cplusplus)
extern "C"
{
#endif
void doSomething(void);
#if defined(__cplusplus)
}
#endif

etc.

Mikal

beginner

Dec 10, 2008, 02:41 pm Last Edit: Dec 10, 2008, 02:42 pm by merlin13 Reason: 1