Go Down

Topic: Uni Industrial Design Project (Read 164 times) previous topic - next topic

LANCEMAN86

Now firstly I am a design student and this is my first semester having to make a product with an Arduino and I have never coded before.

My project is a Sunsmart Hat for the Cancer Council.

I started with someones UV sensor code which controls a RGB LED
and a temperature alarm that starts buzzing over 28 degrees on a hot day
I have also managed to stick in a 2hr timer and a code for the accelerometer
WITHOUT ERRORS!!!  :D 
but its starting to get messy to try and follow and I don't know how to alter it any further to get it to do what I need.

Any help greatly appreciated.

PaulMurrayCbr

I like to break things into objects. For instance - rather than having a colourrgb function, I will make a colourrgb object. This object holds its pin assignments internally. For your application, I'd go a little further, even, and make a UVWarningRgb that knows how the uv values map to rgb colours.

I give every object a loop() and a setup() - even if it doesn't need them - and call each loop and setup from my main loop and setup, which turns each object into a mini-sketch.

I use C++ constructors to set the pin assignments. The cute thing about this is that it becomes possible to make more than one rgb object, if you want, attached to different pins.

Code: [Select]

class WarningRGB {
    const byte rPin, gPin, bPin;

public:
    WarningRGB(byte rPin, byte gPin, byte  bPin) :
      rPin(rPin),
      gPin(gPin),
      bPin(bPin)
    {

}

void setup() {
      pinMode(rPin, OUTPUT);
      pinMode(gPin, OUTPUT);
      pinMode(bPin, OUTPUT);
    }

void loop() {
      // does nothing
    }

void off() {
      analogWrite(rPin, 0);
      analogWrite(gPin, 0);
      analogWrite(bPin, 0);
    }

void setWarning(float level) {
      // code to work out how to draw a colour
      // corresponding to the warning level
      // goes here
    }
};

WarningRGB uvWarning(10, 11, 12);